Is Facebook Dead?

in #life5 years ago (edited)

When I first heard about facebook almost 10 years ago, I didn't really care for it much. I was quite young and we didn't have any kind of social media. It is really important to remember the website functioned a lot different than it does today. To be honest, the only reason I went on there is to look at pictures of girls I knew, you know girls you fell in love with and dreaming looking at their profile pic..

Today

Today facebook is something completely different. I have heard they noticed the changes themselves as well but I think they are too late. The main problem with facebook in my opinion is that, nobody really shares anything personal anymore and with that, it is no longer a social media platform.

What is being shared instead, is content of other people, with the notion that you might like to watch this as well, and an amazing amount of share &like giveaways, ads and other garbage. I want to see what my friends are doing, posting beautiful pictures or sharing interesting stories themselves. And yes, if sometimes they run into an actual funny video by a good comedian, or there is an issue at hand, please share it as well. Yet scrolling through my facebook feed I notice I'm interested in less than 10% of what is showing up.

Get New Friends

Most people will come with the idea: get new friends bud! Your friends are the issue, they are sharing the bs. Yes maybe this is true, however I do not think it's the friends, as they are from all sorts of life, from many different ages and countries. I feel it is the way we see facebook now, as a platform to share things we like, and hope that others like as well.

Problem

For me the main issue is, why share a video or picture, if I can do so on instagram? Why write a small story if I can do it on steemit or a blog website where people actually care about what I write. Why share a video, if nobody is going to watch it anyway, and if they do, who cares? May as well share it privately to the 2 people I think will absolutely love that video.

Facebook is Dead

Facebook is actually dead, the only real users are people that used to send around these annoying chain-emails and jokes via email, that's right, the 50 and 60 year olds that just discovered facebook are raving, maybe some 40 year olds, but all of the kids have moved on. I just use messenger and my business facebook page and never look at my feed, there's nothing to find there anyway. If it wasn't for my business page, and I may soon stop using that as well because I hardly see any progress made there, I would just delete my facebook account and stay on Instagram only, it is more streamlined and offers everything I need.

Reply!!! Do you still use facebook?

  • yes
  • no

Remember, all comments that are of value will be upvoted by me!

Image source: Wonderful Engineering
facebook-768x429.jpg

Sort:  

I no longer use facebook. Like you, I never thought much of it. (Apart from starring at girl's pictures and playing pranks). The only time I use facebook is when I'm applying for an airdrop and some of the tasks involve sharing stuff on facebook.

I don't think facebook is totally dead though. It's like a wounded samurai warrior, clutching to his last grasps of air. I guess it's the reason why facebook is acquiring other social media platforms, trying to channel some of their relevance into facebook.

For me, it's a dumping ground. And maybe for others too

I think facebook mainly acquired those others because it knows that it is time to move on eventually.

To be honest, I still use it to check out new people. It is perfect for an employees who apply for a new job.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes that is a really helpful way of checking out people indeed :)

En als we toch eerlijk zijn Mark. Het stiekem checken voor bikini foto's is wel klaar op fb. 😇😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha bikini foto's heb jij ervan gemaakt ;)

Yes and no.

I still use facebook to share personal photos of my kids with my friends... I am only connected with a small number of real friends on my private account. Everyone else can follow my public page but I hardly ever post there any more since with 60k followers I can only reach about 2k even with an engaging post. This has turned me off FB big time.

Recently they offered me revenue share for videos but you have to post a lot of video to qualify. They may well try and offer other revenue streams to creators in the future if more people start migrating away to other platforms but I feel that the damage has already been done with me. I happily post to Steemit with only 300 followers because it gives me the sense that I am working towards something which will keep growing in the future. FB have destroyed that idea for me.

I think that most people are quite simple at heart... we will all happily work for incentives. As time has gone on, FB has offered me fewer and fewer reasons to contribute to their network.

Exactly, you can have as many followers as you want, if they don't engage...

Well said Timothy the incentives are also very small.. At YouTube you for instance get paid almost nothing to post a video, at facebook you get paid nothing haha :P

Yes and No..

No - I don't spend my time on it, I don't post on my wall or anything like that, I stopped using facebook years before blockchain & crypto became a thing, it just didn't add value to me on a personal level.

Yes - The same way you use it, for business, their ad feature is very useful for any business out there, I also use it to dig up information from groups relevant to whatever I'm researching, just an extra layer to the good ol google search.

Do I think it's dying? Yes, slowly, no love lost.

But nothing is completely dead until it has 0 value to offer..

True, it is not completely dead yet but definitely dying..

Just a thought, what if FB creates its own cryptocurrency?

Also, they are about to get hit with MASSIVE lawsuits! R.I.P Facebook!!

very rarely. Mainly to go stock up on spicy memes.

Yep, that's what I mean :P

Myspace was better anyways.

Yeah I've never used myspace haha :P I had never heard about it until it was gone..

It was the best! You can customize your profile page using html and have top 6 friends! Top 6 becomes whos your bestie politics and people would get upset if you take them off your top 6 when you are their top 6. Good times!

Facebook now is just for narcissists and lefties

Okay maybe that's a bit on the negative but yes I definitely get your point.

Facebook is the new MySpace

Yep!

Facebook is used for many good purposes.I would suggest to look upon the role it has played during the great flood in Kerala, India.Nevertheless it is also used as a tool for data collection,propaganda, manipulation, defamation, doxxing etc.

Yeah but that's completely not my point of this post :P it is not about whether facebook is good or bad, it's about the fact that it is dead. :P hardly anybody I know posts something on facebook anymore that is relevant to their friends, just spam and bs. :)

When a technology platform was born, in this case Facebook, it was something innovative, but it stayed in its origins, other social networks were born with new uses, new alternatives beyond gossip or to see photos of family or friends. This is the case of steemit, an innovative social network with new uses and other life projections

Yes @francisespa too bad it doesn't grow with demand and keeps updating.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93