This Principle Changed My Life!

in #life6 years ago

Today I explain the principle that has changed my life! Watch the 1 minute video and/or have a quick read, it will be worth it!


I made some rookie mistakes

Okay so I didn't have enough time in my 1 minute video to tell you this but actually I just started out with the 1st criteria: just do stuff you like! Even though I was also doing things that add value I didn't realise that fully and didn't incorporate it in my 2 criteria. Therefore I was sometimes missing out on some important things. So don't make the same mistake I did!

Applicability

Hey, let's be honest we cannot always just do things we like. And if we broaden the criteria enough everything you do will add value so we have to adjust the scope of the criteria a bit.

#1 Just do things you like to do. Apply this to medium to large occasions in life. I don't feel like doing the dishes now and then yet I still do them because I do like the general idea of a clean house. I may not like to sort my waste but I do want to contribute to a better environment. I might not always enjoy recording piano lessons yet I do very much enjoy teaching thousands of students on youtube.

#2 For this one it is very important to not overestimate your importance, nor underestimate your importance to people. I tend to skip a lot of birthdays nowadays because I feel that the amount of quality time I get, with the birthday boy or girl is limited to literally around 5 minutes, whilst spending 3 hours sitting on their couch talking to their neighbours whom I've never met. Yes it might be 'the right thing to do', I personally prefer to visit the day before or after and take them out for dinner. This way I get quality time, they get quality time, and I get to spend the 3 hours which I would otherwise spend on that couch talking to the neighbours with someone who can actually use my valuable time to achieve a goal :)

Alternatives

Be really critical and on point. Does it really add value to write 60 cards for Christmas, or would a phone call be more appreciated? Do you like going to the gym? Or could there be another form of physical exercise like rock climbing or yoga that also keeps you in shape, yet is actually something you like to do. Just for the record I like the gym just as much as the other ones ;) Do you need a diploma? Or could work experience bring you further? Learn to look for alternatives to achieve the same goal, yet that are more in line with your personal preferences!

Video transcript:
So in the recording studio here. Today I want to tell you one thing that I have done 5 or 6 years ago. That has changed my entire life. It's the very simple thing of only doing stuff that I like to do or stuff that adds value. Either to my life or other people's life. All of the other stuff I've been trying to eliminate. I'm not saying I'm perfect you know. I haven't been able to do this entirely. But the more I'm doing this the happier I'm getting. By just doing stuff that I like or by doing stuff that actually adds value to mine, or other peoples life. And think about it: think about stuff that is really important to you in life. Is it something that you like to do? Or is it something that is adding value? And if it is neither than it's most likely not something you really enjoy to do it's not something that gives you purpose. So I want you to test the things that you're doing to these two criteria: do you like it? and/or is it adding value to your or other people's lifes!

Sort:  

Beautiful .. Interesting
Great post from you, thanks for the words
Thanks for sharing

thanks @slimanepro glad to hear you like it!

Nice video have a nice lesson to change the life. Great motivation.good content post. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks so much @thedawn! Really glad to hear you like my content :) more will be up soon!

You got a 7.27% upvote from @brandonfrye courtesy of @thedawn!

Want to promote your posts too? Send a minimum of .10 SBD or Steem to @brandonfrye with link in the memo for an upvote on your post. You can also delegate to our service for daily passive earnings which helps to support the @minnowfund initiative. Learn more here

@tipu upvote this post with 0.02 sbd :)

I thought everybody does this by default.

No unfortunately not. I see so many people spending most of their days working a job they don't like, spending time with people they don't like just because they feel social convention dictates this...

Jeh du buw nyo, poto lageey aneuk manyak teungak-ngak

Thanks for sharing! I like your balanced, realistic approach here. Sometimes the simplest advice is the most effective!
I think I may have started implementing this line of logic into my own life as of a few years ago. Somewhat. LOL
:)

Great to hear that. How has that been going for you so far? :)

Because you said it changed your entire life, I watched and listened to the video. I should say, you right! Thinking what I need to do now and what's important to me is very crucial for success and excellence. I hope it can change my life too.

It is really true. Ever since I decided to this I have: Travel around the world for 16 months, lived in Spain, created 50% financial independence (I'm currently only working mornings and studying and developing myself in afternoons). Bought a house, and started my second business :)

Thank you. Some food for though in that! As I have got older, I have found I care less about what others think, and am more willing to do what achieves the best or right outcome. And while I try to do good for others, the fact is that I need to stop doing some stuff so that I have the time and energy to do the things I should be doing!

Yes, when we are in a plane and the air pressure drops we have to put the mask on the kids first and then on ourselves right? Uhhh, no you place the mask on yourself first, because if you do not take care of yourself, you cannot take care of others :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61372.42
ETH 2928.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66