You don't see one of these everyday!

in #life6 years ago

On my drive out to Arcadia, Florida for work, I drove through some very rural areas. Once you get a few miles past I 75 you are in the country. There are many cattle in the fields along the road. I also have seen many deer along this road. When I was almost to Arcadia, I saw this windmill and stopped to take a closer look.

Watch this video I got of it.

You can see water coming out of a little pipe into a big blue tub. The windmill spinning turns a pump that pumps the water up from the well that goes down deep in the ground. The water comes out and fills up the tub so the cattle can come and get a nice drink of water whenever they want. How great is that?

Here is another video.

Do you have these in your county? This is the only one I have seen driving all around Florida. I know there must be more, but I haven't seen them. Such simple technology.

Sort:  

Super efficient and green. Love it.

It's a great set for a Western although it would be an Eastern!

Very cool - I wonder how deep down this tech will work. In North Central Florida I think our well was over 100' down and others almost 200' down and we had powerful electric pumps. This makes me very curious. Access to clean water deep down in the aquifer is very important. So I am wondering...

I think I drove through Arcadia one time on my way to the keys, as far as I can remember correctly it was very devastated bya hurricane back then.

in 1905 the town was destroyed by a large-scale fire that originated from a mid-town livery stable. The fire was exacerbated because the town did not have a working water system or fire department. The estimated monetary damage was $250,000, but there was no loss of life. Much of the business district was not spared. It would be years before the town recovered.

This post has received votes totaling more than $50.00 from the following pay for vote services:

promobot upvote in the amount of $16.92 STU, $28.55 USD.
rocky1 upvote in the amount of $16.54 STU, $27.91 USD.
therising upvote in the amount of $14.05 STU, $23.71 USD.
lays upvote in the amount of $2.97 STU, $5.02 USD.
bumper upvote in the amount of $0.96 STU, $1.62 USD.

For a total calculated value of $51 STU, $87 USD before curation, with approx. $13 USD curation being earned by the paid voters.

This information is being presented in the interest of transparency on our platform and is by no means a judgement as to the quality of this post.

It's actually rare to see the video. Like to give a video that you like @markvance

What to do with the thing like the tower.

Reminds me of Smallville, Kansas.

This is a nice technology .. I saw this video .Good to saw this windmill.. Simple tech bt it works very well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97