Dead Laptops and Heat Illness

in #life6 years ago

Today is the first time I've been able to get on my laptop to write in five days. I hate it when a charger gets a short then conks out. I finally got a new charger today and my laptop is back in commission. I on the other hand am still recovering from a heat related illness.

We've had 90 to 94 degree temperatures here in Tennessee. I'm not use to the extreme heat and ended up overdoing it working outside. I've got my garden and my ducks to tend to and they've needed extra attention in the hot weather. My poor ducks pant like puppies when they get hot. I'm having to go outside to mist them off with the water hose when they look too hot. I'm also refilling their watering holes while I water our garden patches. Sadly their kiddie pool got holes in it so the water leaks out after a few hours. I got some flex seal and will repair it once I'm feeling better. Until then I refill the pool a few times a day.

My sweet ducks are worth the work

IMG_6135.JPG

Our garden is pretty huge these days. Watering all of our garden patches takes some time and effort climbing up and down mountainous terrain. In 90 degree weather going up and down our mountain to water plants is easily exhausting.

My husband officially banned me from going outside today. For three days I just couldn't cool off. Even inside in cold air conditioning I felt burned up. I have sunburn on my face, back, and arms. From the heat I felt zapped of energy, stomach cramps, dehydration, and eventually a fever.

My husband asked me to bake a chicken the other day and that's what really pushed me over the edge. The oven heated up the house and I got so hot! The house took forever to cool off. By the next morning I felt like crap. Cooking with an oven, poor ventilation, and hot weather don't mix.

The chicken I cooked included our first big harvest of purple, yellow, and green beans from the garden

IMG_6122.JPG

I couldn't recover much for the 4th of July and didn't feel like eating our nice cookout food or setting off fireworks myself. I did a lot of sitting and watching. I spent today in the house for the most part. I wake up each day at 5:30 AM anymore to let my ducks out of their cage and feed them. I filled up their kiddie pool and an extra container of water to get them through the day. Other than that I stayed in bed or on the couch and rested.

I hate that the heat took me out of the game. I need to limit my time outside better when the temps hit 90 or above. I hate getting up at 5:30 AM to do chores outside but at least it's cool outside. Tomorrow will be another day of staying indoors and taking it easy. I'm still exhausted and not feeling great. This is why I love winter. I hate being hot.

Anyways, now that I have my laptop back I'll slowly return to my Steemit life. It might take me a few days to feel fully better but I'm determined to get back to visiting all my friends here.

Sort:  

I love the ducks are very tender, and these look beautiful and well cared for

Hello, very relaxed in a pool haha ​​I like to see them, and what a joy that you are counting more grains here we eat every day.

must have tasted great that duck didnt it??? may i suggest if you can ever try a steam cooked duck.... it will melt your taste buds.

Eeeep! Hi...been missing you! Keep those duckie babies cool. Sorry to hear about the heat related illness...we got a sudden heat wave here and my kitties are overheated. They don't like baths and pools like us humans. <3

Well, I'm glad I'm not the only one that has that problem! I bought a charger with the block and plug in one unit, which I don't recommend. It won't stay in sideways-oriented plugs.

The beans look delicious! The ducks also look like they're doing well.

I understand all too well how the heat and humidity of summer can effect you @marxrab I'm sorry to hear that you have been unwell and I hope that you will make a quick recovery. Its hard to pace yourself when you are responsible for family …..and ducks as they need looking after too. All I can say I, try and read your body and be kind to yourself. Find ways to cool down and take good care of yourself.

That certainly is a fabulous harvest of beans. They are one of my favourite vegetables. I'm pleased to know you are back in business. I have missed you.

You need to be careful of heat exhaustion. It's not pretty. You need to drink something with electrolytes to replace those that you have lost in the heat. Gatorade or Powerade are two the I know should be available to you. I know about heat. we are 46 today or 115 depending on which system you use. I don't go out much when it is this hot as I have suffered heat exhaustion in the past.

I am catching up from being on a vacation with spotty internet. Just wanted to say take care of yourself. When I over do it on hot days I get like that too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97