RIP Pumpkin Spice and Lenny Our Sweet Bunny Boys

in #life4 years ago

IMG_1303.jpg

I have no idea what happened this week but we sadly lost both of our rabbits. It's crazy to lose both within a weeks time and I'm incredibly sad. Pumpkin Spice was perfectly fine one day and the next I found him passed away in my bedroom under the bed. He was eating and drinking just fine. I looked around the room and didn't find anything he could have eaten (foods, cords, etc.). I just don't know what happened.

IMG_2541 (2).jpg

Now, this morning, a week later, his brother Lenny passed away. He was eating and drinking fine two days ago. Then, yesterday I noticed he didn't touch his food or water and noticed he was spending a lot of time in one of his favorite spots. I knew something was wrong and held him for a while. He's never been cuddly before and usually bucks when I pick him up. No vets are open here on Sundays and I just had a feeling he wouldn't make it to Monday. I tried to syringe water and food into his mouth but it didn't help. By morning he was gone.

IMG_2537 (2).jpg

Lenny's behavior changed drastically after his brother was gone. I think maybe he died of loneliness. He was partially blind and I don't think he could get around as well without Pumpkin Spice. He was eating and drinking just fine but then yesterday he wouldn't eat or drink. I tried to feed and water him with a syringe and he seemed like he'd make it to morning so I could get him to a vet but...I woke up this morning and he was gone.

I often thought the person we bought the brothers from wasn't a good breeder since Lenny was born partially blind. Maybe both had something wrong with them and we didn't know it?. I don't know. I tried to give both a great life and I don't think it's anything I did. At least I can't think of anything we did wrong. Rabbits are such quiet pets. They don't show pain so you never know when something is wrong until it gets bad. My last rabbit Marx lived 6 years and a urinary tract infection was what killed him. Both Pumpkin Spice and Lenny didn't make it a year and I have no idea why.

I love having rabbits as pets but I don't think I want a rabbit again. If I do it will be a very long time before that happens. I feel so bad. They were such beautiful boys and so colorful to have running around the house. I'm going to miss both of them very much.

Sort:  

So sorry - loosing a pet is never easy.

Aww sorry to hear that. Losing a pet always hurts. Very strange, too. Could they have gotten some sort of rabbit illness?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64168.03
ETH 3172.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84