Settling Into Her New Home

in #life4 years ago

If I see an animal in serious need I have to rescue it. That's how we ended up with six cats. Five of them are rescues and my most recent rescue is settling into her new home happily.

This is Dixie

IMG_E2965.JPG

Dixie has been with us a month now. I got a phone call from my uncle saying he had a white cat just like one I rescued several years ago trapped in his garage. He asked if I wanted it because he was ready to take her to the pound. The local animal shelters are packed and are kill shelters for animals there too long so that could have been a death sentence for the cat. I said I'd pick the cat up with the goal of re-homing it.

I arrived to the garage expecting a cat that was skittish and hiding. Usually when rescuing cats on the street they are scared, haven't been handled by people, and take a lot of work to because good house pets. This little white girl was the opposite. She came right up to me and let me pick her up and cuddle her. She was very sweet and let me put her in a cat carrier no problem.

My uncle then said he knew her history. The next door neighbor was her owner. The woman fell in love with some guy, ran off to Florida, the guy took all her money and ran off, and the woman lost her mind and ended up in a mental institution after having a breakdown. The woman's daughter went to her house and let all her cats outdoors and abandoned them. The daughter was terrible for that and for not re-homing them. The woman in the mental institution came back but refused to rescue her own pets and eventually ran off again.

Little white cat stayed near the only home she knew and desperately was trying to get my uncle to save her. She kept trying to get in his garage where it was safe but he owns two big dogs who were always going after her. She wasn't doing well on her own.

I knew that first day home I wasn't going to get rid of her. She's the sweetest cat I've ever met. She lets my toddler pick her up and drag her around the house like a doll. She doesn't bite or scratch. There was no transition time needed with her. She was so happy being in a house again that she was totally cool we took her.

This is Snowman who we rescued several years ago

IMG_2990.JPG

Interestingly, Dixie was rescued from a home next door to the home where Snowman lived. His owners moved and abandoned him. He roamed that neighborhood for years and that neighborhood has always had a stray cat problem. I've often wondered how many kittens he fathered while he was there. Dixie is all white just like Snowman. She has eyes the same exact yellow and shape. She also has the same personality, mannerisms, and quirks. Quirks that if I was petting either of them with a blindfold on I wouldn't be able to tell which cat was which. I do think there is a good chance she's related to Snowman in some way. I think I was fated to rescue Snowman's great great grandchild maybe or whatever relation she is.

I do suspect she was in heat when we brought her home and she's getting pretty fat so she's probably pregnant. She's very calm and lazy right now so maybe we'll have kittens in the future. I definitely will re-home them because I can't become a crazy cat lady!

I'm glad we were able to save Dixie. She's such a nice girl. She didn't deserve to be abandoned like that. At least she's safe and sound for the rest of her life and she has people who will find her kittens loving homes.

Sort:  

Maybe Dixie and Snowman are related some way because they come from the same area. It'sgood she feels so comfortable in your home. Who wouldn't?

I would think they could be related. I don't see many pure white cats with yellow eyes around and Snowman was an unfixed alpha male in that neighborhood for years so he probably fathered kittens. Dixie is a great cat. She loves my 3 year old which is rare with rescue cats.

You don't want to be a crazy cat lady? I can't immagine the amount of time spent cleaning litter boxes that would be involved in that many cats... The two I'm taking care of at the moment are enough from that stantpoint. They do look like nice, poofy cats though!

We installed a cat door so 5 out of 6 cats choose to go outside to use the bathroom. Only our 17 year old cat chooses to use the litter box. That's why even though we have 6 it's really no more work than having only a few. Now that we live in the country I let them come and go as they please. I leave unlimited access to dry food in the kitchen. The cats really take care of themselves.

Thank you so much for doing this - o my people can be terrible - I will never understand it

I will never understand it either. Some people are terrible for doing such things.

Thank goodness 4 people like you... I 2 have an all white cat I rescued with her 4 kittens. I now have 11 house cats... Never went looking 4 them ...

IMG_2130.JPG

My Mama is just like your Dixie ... The sweetest cat in the wotld...

Awww! Your cat is so pretty! I love a nice white cat. Yes, my Dixie is super sweet. Where she is pregnant she'll lay around my toddler's head on her side when she's asleep like she would if she had kittens nursing. If my toddler cries Dixie will be concerned and come up to her and nuzzle her. The woman who abandoned her really lost a great animal. I don't think I can keep her kittens. I've got 6 cats, 2 rabbits, and 6 ducks. I'm incubating duck eggs to sell so I"m probably going to have around 40 ducklings in the house. Kittens on top of that might be too much. I'd like to find them homes where they could have more attention.

Yes we are lucky to have these loving cats... Good luck finding good homes 4 the kittens...😼

I am so glad she found you. I will never understand how humans can be so cruel. I look at my 3 abandoned ones and think what a loss to those idiots, but what a win for me. I prefer animals over most humans...

I agree. Rescued cats are so great sometimes and I wonder why someone could abandon them.

Sorry I missed this...

What a blessing that cat sounds like! Happy to hear about Dixie!

😄😇😉

@creatr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64172.03
ETH 3144.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85