Spreading Love in a Risky Place Called Jail

in #life6 years ago

"People don't understand that you can actually lose your life going to jail. There's more violence in the jail-house than there is on the stress" -Snoop Dogg

My day today was a very tiring day . This morning , I taught high school students at Bankal National High School and after that, me and my co-student teachers were given this another marvelous opportunity to teach inside the City Jail. I was so excited for this another experience because I'm expecting to see my neighbor there but suddenly , when we are about to enter the gate , I felt so nervous especially seeing almost all the prisoners are looking at you. I really felt uncomfortable because you can't bring anything even ball pen. I was assigned to tackle Filipino subject.
When we were about to start the discussion, I felt so nervous and uncomfortable because outside the jail there are lots prisoners looking at me . I don't know if where exactly are they looking but I am really not used to it. I just sat there and then my discussion goes on.
At the middle of my discussion , I lost my voice. I asked them to read what is on the test papers until I'll be fine. Few minutes, thank God my voice was back. I finished my discussion and after that , I gave them exam and surprisingly, most of them got only one mistake. After our session , we interviewed some of the prisoners about the reasons why they are there. Some of them said that most of the prisoners there ere imprisoned because of drugs, some are murder, rape , argon and others. After having them interviewed, I saw my neighbor and I was able to talk to him for a while and I really saw it in his eyes that he really misses his children.

I was very happy seeing them still smiling and hopeful that everything will be alright. I am very proud of them that despite their situation, they are still interested to learn. Before we bid farewell, there's this one prisoner who said " Maam , be back again so that we can learn more" and I just said " Sure, why not. " and smiled.

Your recent situation will never define who you are. Never let anyone label you as a criminal or a bad person, it's just you made a mistake. The important thing is that, you learned something from that mistake.

lapu-lapu-city-jail-greyhound_0.jpg

[Source] (https://www.google.com.ph/search?rlz=1CASMAE_enPH641PH641&biw=1366&bih=629&tbm=isch&sa=1&ei=DzhvWuXSGsim8AWN0qiIAw&q=City+jail+at+soong+lapu+lapu+&oq=City+jail+at+soong+lapu+lapu+&gs_l=psy-ab.3...16931.26115.0.26322.29.21.0.0.0.0.411.1602.0j1j3j1j1.6.0....0...1c.1.64.psy-ab..23.5.1186...0j0i67k1j0i30k1j0i5i30k1.0.wTX7obQf8_o#imgrc)

Sort:  

@teardrops fell from their eyes for sure

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.89
ETH 2933.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68