I Got THREE Flat Tires On A Road Trip. Who Came To The Rescue?! SBD DID. Thanks, Steem! Read Inside To Find Out How To Save Your Ass With SBD.

in #life7 years ago

619A5132.jpg

As some of you may know, I've been out and about, away from computers, the city, technology, internet, and responsibilities (kind of) the past couple weeks. Barring my daily relapses while in tech-rehab here in the middle of the Appalachian Mountains at @tommyinthesun's house (my little brother), it has been a success so far!

For this techno-break/familial-visit/brain-defrag-pre-going-hard-on- @agoric.systems trip, we have in tow:

The wife! @kotturinn


619A5140.jpg

My partner in revolution, @robrigo


619A5147.jpg

Albert Wesker himself, sans-T-Virus, @broester


619A5136.jpg

Me, myself, @matt-a, but I didn't take a picture of myself so I'll just post a picture of pizza because I'd eat some right now if I had it


Aaaaand finally we have my little brother @tommyinthesun, whose house we're at, who you can see below combing his mustache before he carved his beard into something crazy. He's prepping to play violin in a symphony right now.


619A5142.jpg

Here's where we landed. The view from @tommyinthesun's house, which is on the mountain that I grew up on. We're actually pretty close to the top of this particular one at this point:
619A5133.jpg

So, yeah! Now that we're all caught up a little bit, onto what this post is about!

And that issss . . .

SBD SAVING MY ASS BY BUYING ME SOME NEW TIRES.

On the way here, and within the first day or two, I managed to get not one, nor two, but THREE flat tires. Yeah, three flat tires. Always a great feeling when you get one flat tire, but when you get three, it feels great, on par with watching your first born come into existence . . . but not really. It sucks ass pretty hard.

Instead of patching or plugging them, I needed to just buy some new tires. Three patch jobs on a moving vessel that can sport a blow-out at any moment that results in your body being smashed to pieces, ending your life as well as the other occupants, is not something that I'm particularly into. So new tires it was.

I hit up the baby girl @kotturinn and said "Gimme 250 SBD before I divorce you," and she said "alright, here you go, I'm very scared, please don't divorce me." And just like that, BAM, I had 250 SBD sent to my account.

I took the 250 SBD, plopped it over into Bittrex world

And traded that into some Bitcoin!

From there, I pulled the Bitcoin into my Mycelium wallet so that I could easily buy a Wal-Mart gift card through the Gyft application on Android. But for some weird reason, I couldn't buy Wal-Mart gift cards directly with bitcoin through Gyft, so I first had to buy Gyft credit first, and then use that to buy a Wal-Mart gift card.

With the $250 Wal-Mart gift card in hand, I drove my 15 year old Honda Civic with three fix-a-flat filled tires to Wal-Mart's Tire & Lube Express, the closest place to here to get some tires changed, hoping to god that I don't end up cruising on my rims over the mountains.

LO AND BEHOLD! I made it!!!

I got to the tire place, pulled in, went to the counter, told them what's up, they took my car, I waited a few hours, and magically, I had new tires!

So when I went to pay, I busted out my trusty phone with the SBD encrusted Wal-Mart gift card on it.

They scanned it.

Poof.

Paid in full.

New tires.

Ass saved.

Now me and my crew wont die on the road. What a lil' angel Steem is.


@AGORIC.SYSTEMS LIVES TO SEE ANOTHER DAY.


THANK YOU, STEEM!

Sort:  

This is crazy, just the thing that Steemit needs to get more people to see the value of this platform.
I am re steeming this. Excellent work @matt-a

Thanks, man! That's what I'm trying to display here!

looks beautiful up there @matt-a! sorry to hear about the crappy tired episode, but made for a great story. I had totally forgotten that Gyft accepted crypto. definitely useful for places people shop at relatively often. they even have home depot and ebay cards. add costco, and I'll be set! lol

damn, i hope this was all your bad luck for the year! maybe time to buy some lottery tickets? statistically speaking, your luck can only improve!

Seriously. If I was playing the inverse lottery, I'd be reigning supreme. Where are you, by the way?!

We in the Appal hood.

Rock and roll lifestyle!

All I can think of is how in the world you ended up with three flats at once!!? Did you escape from a parking garage by running over one of those backward spike strips? Did you run over a pack of migrating porcupines? Did you get in a bar fight and the angry bouncer slashed your tires? Or maybe you ran over your favorite studded collar? My mind is perplexed!!

Tire #1: NAIL
Tire #2: SCREW
Tire #3: VALVE STEM RIPPAGE

A bout of shit-luck, really. I've never had these kinds of odds stab me in the face before, but I guess that there's a first time for everything. I should've been playing the inverse-lottery . . .

It happened because @God wanted you write about fast SBD transfers ;)

Yeah @matt-a, what a cool way to buy tires! There should be a faster way, but your ways is much more fun :)) Steemit saves the day :) Especially liked the part with "Gimme 250 SBD before I divorce you," LOL
As for me, Steemit helped fund my vacation :)) I write about travel a lot and it helps me to travel even more!

It will happen soon! This is all a work in progress and we're all laying the groundwork :-).

"I hit up the baby girl @kotturinn and said "Gimme 250 SBD before I divorce you," and she said "alright, here you go, I'm very scared, please don't divorce me."" - that made me laugh out loud

I was tempted to take it a little further, but I've been trying to keep my hands off of the computer as much as I can haha. Too easy for me to keep rolling with stupid stuff!

Glad I could supply some hahas.

Oh yeah! Its bad enough cruising around Detroit with bad tires, but nothing compared to those mountain roads with a blowout! At least that is true of the ones in North Carolina in the Blue Ridge Mountains! Some of those roads are pucker factor 11!!!

Oh, damn. I had the bad luck 2 years ago on the motorway back home after work. I heard the click, click, click of the screw the whole 30 kilometers home. Awful.
Good that SBDs help you.

Yeah! It's haunting. You gotta get somewhere, and you know you need to stop to get a new tire, but you have to keep going to make that happen . . . ugh, anxiety! Paranoia!

SBD = Tires = Us not dead!

You should be the official story teller of Steemit, what an amazing journey and I enjoyed your dark humor as well, I tried to imagine a pizza using bittrex.
On another note, I want to thank you for upvoting one of my recent posts and hope I can return the favor. Followed!

Interesting how you were saved by Steem. We need to spread this kind of Steem can be used for anytime.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64161.84
ETH 2950.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60