Dedicated to those who are disrespectful of other people's time

in #life6 years ago

I may be anal about punctuality, but I’m taught this by my mentor:

"Always give priority to those who gives you priority.”

What it essentially means is if someone do not respect your time, then don’t give them as much attention as you would to another who is respectful.

And I take that as common sense too, because if the other party do not take your time seriously, do you think you should be forgiving, wait for them, and let them push your schedules around?

Over the years, I’ve worked closely with the startup communities here in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, partly because of my work at KICKSTART.MY. And I have to say, I’ve never felt more disrespectful of my time than with those in this community.

Here are 4 separate incidents that truly left a bad taste.

#1. Casual meet up

Meet up was agreed to happen at 2pm, at a Starbucks. Meeting was initiated by the other party too. I went a little early to my meeting and had some work done as I wait. 2pm came, then 2.30pm. I dropped a text, and went back to work. Before I knew it, it was already 5pm. The guy didn’t text me back until 11plus at night. Excuse? Phone died. We never had that meet up. Best part, it had a very casual apology too. #casual

#2. Casual meet up too

This is with a local government agency located far out from the city. We were chatting a bit about collaborations, and though it was very rarely, I happened to be around her workplace, which is a good 40 minutes drive away (on a very good day). We agreed to meet at 7pm at a restaurant near by. As usual, I was there to work early. No show until 9.30pm, with messages in between. Funny thing was, despite being just 5 minutes drive away, her constant reply was that she’s leaving, or on-the-way, or see you soon. We never met that night too. Best part, no apologies.

Apparently I found out some time later one of my community partners had the same issue with a couple of staffs from the same agency. Luckily for her, they were only 25 minutes late. Spirited as she is, she met them for 5 minutes, and left because the meeting was supposedly for 30 minutes only. #burned

#3. Skype Call(s)

This meeting was initiated by me, as I was interested in her startup. As she was in the marketing-tech space, and I was in marketing in general, I was keen to know more about her solution, so we arranged for a Skype call at 2pm. At 3.30pm, she dropped me a message (yes, after 90 minutes of silence), saying her meeting ran late, and couldn’t make the Skype call. She was apologetic, and wanted to contact me again after the meeting to arrange another Skype call. She never did.

#4. Free consultation

So I do psychometric assessments from time to time for my client, and a new JV partner I was testing out asked if I could do a free one for her. Normally my charges are at RM500 per assessment, but since she was kind enough to give me a speaking slot (at a paid event), I decided to extend her a complimentary assessment.

Assessment was done, but she asked me to meet her at a part of city that I do not frequent, nor did I enjoyed going because it has bad traffic flow. So we agreed to meet another time when she was around my area.

My thought? The assessment was already free, and for me to drive over to debrief her for free, that’s a lot of non-paid work.

Come morning of the debriefing session (we were supposed to meet at 2pm), from past experiences, I decided to drop her a text to confirm the meeting. She said she was busy and asked for a reschedule later in the evening, which clashes with my personal time. I told her we will meet another time, but I couldn’t help but think, if I hadn’t confirmed with her earlier in the morning, would she informed me on her own?

These are just four major ones I remembered well, mainly because I thought it was unprofessional, disrespectful and distasteful even. Of course, with KL city traffic, I am generally fine with others who are a few minutes, or even up to 20 minutes late, regardless of who asked for the meeting. Clients get special treatment, of course, since they are paying customers. It’s those free ones, especially those initiated by the other party, that I’m more particular with.

Well, I guess they just don’t value time as much as I do. That’s comforting to know. Or try to avoid 2pm meetings, since it's like a common denominator here...


Wait, why's Mav posting on Steemit nowadays?

Well, unlike other blogging and social media platform, Steemit is the only platform that allows me to earn cryptocurrency when I engage with it. Yup, one Steem is about USD1, and you, too, can earn Steem Dollars every time you:

  • Create content (articles, blog posts, podcasts, videos, photos)
  • Upvote (like) other people contents
  • Comment on other people's posts
  • Have discussions, share opinions etc!

Yup, basically it's the very same thing you're doing on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram etc all along!

The only difference? For once you can earn a nice income on the side!

Sign up for a free Steemit account, and you can thank me by coming back and upvoting this article. And guess what, you will earn Steem too for doing that! #awesome

follow_maverickfoo.gif

Sort:  

In Kuching where the traffic is not as bad, this happens as well. As you said, we just need to move on.

Kinda the attitude lar. I was told in Jakarta, 45 minutes late is a norm...

Personal stories makes it easier to be understood, and fun to read.

I learn a lot in this post, because I always thought that my time is not valuable, since I have less work to do. But after reading this, I'll take note when I start to step into my busy schedule, the real (adult) life .

And yes I find it funny when you mention most of them couldn't make it during 2pm 🙈. How about 11am, after meeting, straight go for lunch.

Usually in the morning, I will keep to do my own work. So at least work gets done. If I set a morning meeting and they fuck it up too, I'm lagi pissed. Haha.

Ahh, one more new thing to learn, morning is a time to do our own work. Always the one thing that I always want to learn... perseverance.

Now I slightly get why after lunch time is preferable. After 4 would be a bad time too. Unless they're up to get midnight drink 😝 .

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @maverickfoo to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

@mrainp420 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an BiggerUpvote send 0.5 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an BiggerUpvote and a reSteem send 1.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Congratulations @maverickfoo, this post is the forth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 3208 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $2778.00. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64254.80
ETH 3145.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88