The Power of the Present Moment

in #life6 years ago

I suffer from anxiety. I had my first anxiety attack about 3 years ago while driving. It was the scariest thing I'd ever experienced. I felt as if I couldn't breathe, my hands were shaking and a slew of negative thoughts began running through my head. Years later, I still get these attacks and I can feel when they are happening. I get overwhelmed and I begin to feel helpless....

I want to talk for a moment about the power of the present moment. This is something that I am learning as a way to combat anxiety attacks. Most of anxiety attacks are brought on by stress. We are usually stressing about something that has already happened or something that has not yet happened, and may not even happen for that matter. When you start to feel this stress, it is important to stop, take 3 deep breaths and just focus on what is going on in the present moment. What do you see? What do you hear? Find 3 things to be grateful for in THIS moment. Don't worry about a day from now or even an hour from now. Just fall in love with and appreciate the moment that you are in.

I hope this post helps someone that has anxiety. I'm learning to meditate and remember to just focus on being present. It's a day by day thing, but it helps.

Sort:  

absolutely right

Congratulations @mazing87! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @mazing87! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61383.17
ETH 2915.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61