How I Fell in Love with Running

in #life7 years ago

About 10 years ago, I decided to give running a try. I used to live in South Florida, where the climate is warm year around and very humid. Although the running trails are relatively flat, Miami  is surrounded by beautiful landscapes and turquoise waters, canals (yes you may see an alligator or two) and lakes,  so running is just one of those things people do. I dislike the heat, unfortunately my body has a hard time regulating temperature so I barely sweat. Therefore running was never my number one choice of sport, but I was looking to get into an exercise regimen and I also needed to de-stress. 

How I started. 

Well, I went to my computer and searched on how to start running and found a program called Couch to 5k.  I printed a weekly schedule since at that time, there were no such thing as apps. Now you can find an immense world of running apps that can guide you every step of the way.

So my goals were small. I started by jogging for 30 seconds then walking for 2-3 minutes. Then I increased my jogging from one stop sign to the next. After a few weeks, I made my first jog around my neighborhood park without stopping. I recall how proud I felt for pushing myself to make that goal. I continued to make objects, found on my running trails, my goals... the stop light, the mailbox, big oak tree, or the yellow post. My goals began to increase and soon went from blocks to miles. 

Next Challenge

I signed up for my first 5K race, it was the Susan G Komen for the Cure. I remember how afraid I was of not finishing, or tripping over myself. It was an extraordinary experience, I recall feeling so honored to run for such a great cause. And then I was hooked!

The Beginning of a New Love 

I soon found myself needing to run. I entered many 5k's soon after and then i started running 1/2 marathons. My fastest 5k was in 8.26 minutes pace, which I know its not very fast, however, I did end up getting a first place medal which was pretty amazing. I cant even describe the feeling of euphoria that I experienced before every race. It is so amazing to be around people who are just as excited to run. Running is not easy... The battle is within you. I fought with myself usually about mile 10.  I would begin questioning Why??? 

"Why am I running?" 
"Why cant I just walk the rest of the way?? 

Then that little voice within me will say..."you can do it.. almost there.. just a little more." 

So here is the moment where you push to overcome your fears and doubts all the way to that finish line until you cross it.

Running became a part of my life. If you are thinking about taking some steps yourself, let me know! I'll be happy to cheer you on this life changing gift! 

The road awaits! 

Sort:  

For me, running is just not my thing. But if there is a nice reward at the end, I become much more motivated.

Congratulations @mchavarriaot! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hi @mchavarriaot! so happy to find you here. I love making friends all over the world. I will follow you and I hope you do the same so we can stay friends. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69450.75
ETH 3678.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81