The Last Stop

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Last night I had a terrifying night. But let me take it from the start.

cliffhanger

ˈklɪfhaŋə/

noun

  1. a dramatic and exciting ending to an episode of a serial, leaving the audience in suspense and anxious not to miss the next episode.

  2. a story or event with a strong element of suspense.

via GoogleDefinitions

I love horror. Movies, books, everything. Anything supernatural, thrillers, weird stuff. I should put my pinterest on Steemit one day to know exactly what I'm talking about.

So clearly, I'm not easily scared. I don't sleep with the lights on when I watch a scary movie home alone. I'm a night owl - this is how I keep myself alive. The thrill, the fear, give me life instead of draining me.
Even real life situations have been more interesting because of the element of fear. And of course, I never stayed up because of a scary movie - maybe strange, amazing dreams [and I dream A LOT], but that's all...
I believe in paranormal phenomena, as I witnessed some, and in anything strange including witchcraft, evil, demons or even ghosts [ok, that, it depends haha :P] so I'm not easily scared. I studied Theology so it fits anyway...plus, I saw my first horror when I was 5 - ok, technically by mistake, my babysitter was on the phone ahahaha!!!

But the other night, something happened and triggered my fear. And no, it's not what you think.

So lately I'm playing this game on my phone. It's called Cliffhanger and it's basically a text game app - no sound, only texts. It doesn't only have horror, but I choose horror, thriller and supernatural. After I finished the horror category [apparently haha], I started Thriller [boooriiiiing] and then, it automatically [and strangely...] switched to Supernatural - I had no idea.
So there was this story, typical same like the rest.

You can find the app here:

FOR iOS:
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/cliffhanger-chat-stories/id1232403626?mt=8
FOR ANDROID:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.hypebits.android.thriller&hl=en

Since I wanna give full credit to the author, here's a screenshot from the app, including the name and the title. There are SPOILERS, but I'm sure,even if you do get the app,ok...you can let one slide ;)

This is not 'copy-paste' in any way. I'm just re-telling the story in my own words. Besides, on the app it's a dialogue - via texts.
In this story, Liz wakes up on the subway, as if she was drugged before, and starts texting her sister. Apparently she took some strong medicine before her flight that's why everything seems so blurry. She tells her the name of the station so her sister let her know that she has to get off at the next one - only the next one is not the right one.
Then a creepy guy dressed in black wearing a hood appears. She can't see his face.
The next one is not the right one either.
She gets off leaving the weirdo on the train.
She checks the map and her sister online and apparently she is ...'nowhere'. This station does not exist. And BOOM - the guy is there, at the station, how's that even possible?
As she keeps texting her sister all creeped out, she gets on the next train. The guy gets on too. Her sister suggests to go up front and find the conductor. But this train seems never ending -she keeps walking and walking, passing 15 cars, and she's still not at the front.
Her sister, alarmed, decides to call the police, to locate her, especially when she mentions her bag is missing and feels so confused and lost. Instead, the police calls HER.
'Liz? Were you on flight 222? A woman died from a bad reaction to some medication - they say she had your purse and ID. What's going on?'
The man started talking to her, told her they should get off now.
'Sorry sis, I have to go now,

...this is my stop.'

Why did that story spook me out? Besides the fact that wasn't predictable like the others. Because it was so God damn true.

This 'game', story, dialogue, or whatever you wanna call it, included LIFE:

The anxiety, the stress, the fear. The frantic feeling of going the wrong way...
And then, what's life then? We're on an endless train, until we find our stop, our...

Last Stop...

Until then, we wait, we get lost, we are expecting to get somewhere but then...look at that... we just DIE. That's why this story creeped the hell out of me [and left lights on and couldn't sleep for 2 hours even though I was sleepy...]

I never get scared by stories. Because they're fake. I also love trains - subway, whatever. But this one, was a tragic allegory of real life. I don't know if that was the purpose of the author but bottom line... We all get one Final Stop and I still get the shivers thinking that we never know when or where it'll be... And truth is...we're all alone - with that guy...

Here's a creepy song via YouTube that I think goes well with the mood. I was listening to it non-stop while writing my Theology Master's Thesis on Lilith [who was a redhead like me apparently...] here in Copenhagen, a few months ago...

I hope I didn't make you too sad and you enjoyed reading...either way, don't forget to smile ;)

MeanMommy

Yours

follow_meanmommy33.gif

SS-pansies-EN.jpg(https://discord.gg/D2V8nq9)
Banner by: @thekittygirl

Sort:  

Whoa crazy story. Everything you said about life and well death is so true. One day will be our last. Our last train ride. So let's make these days the best while we have em :)

One of the most fit gifs you've ever posted ... it was as if I was there, at this scene, when reading this story...
And you are certainly right. I'm not going to let another second go to waste... And I'm not talking about nutrition, gym or even job. I'm talking about people - my people, my loved ones, online or in person, family or friends, whoever is close to my heart and with whom I intend to spend as many beautiful moments as possible - until my very last stop ;)

Before reaching the last stop..what is it that we regret not doing that we can do now.?

...it took me a while to answer...'cause I was thinking of the answer...which I knew, in my mind, that from the start, it was that: ''Spending more time with our loved ones''. We don't -and then, one day, it's just too late :(

Quality time with each other will be cool.

Hahah with that guy! Good story, I have to say the conclusion caught me by surprise. None of us obviously know what happens at the end or is it the beginning? But it sure is easy to not think about it while we’re here. Good reminder ;)

Same effect to me that's why I couldn't get over it and made a post about it instead :D
We never do [think about it while here] but we sure should... ;)

uuuuu, that does sound scary, too scary for me lol :D
I like thrillers, not scary stuff because I am not a night owl like you, I am more of a daytime easy to spook hopping bunny :D
The app sounds interesting, maybe I will try it out and see if there are some "light" modes to play.

ahahahahaha ok hopping bunny, then try it for the 'normal' stories and tell me what you think ;)))

As I grew up with severe sleep paralysis I also have a high tolerance for fear. I enjoy a good spooky tale and movie (spectral, I do not like gore) but since an incident I fear death, it scares me so much. Guess when you actually think you are dying that survival instinct triggers. I am trying to accept the fact we all go... I never let it discomfort me, but now I feel a pang of dread sometimes. And time flies.

I feel the exact same way.
And the reason this particular story hit me is that it had to do with death - but not 'crime' story kinda thing, mostly supernatural 'going away moment' documentation... that's what freaked me out...

Two weekends ago I visited a park devoted to death, it was an artist that got obsessed with it, and the place is so eerie, I need to finish and have it upload it. But yes, the idea of "stopping being" scares me (not to death hopefully)

Death is just another journey, isn't it? Well that's what I thought and I never knew since I never been there... ;)

Yeah, me neither but that's a very positive way to think about it <3

That is so true...

Seems interesting. I think I am gonna give it a try! thanks for sharing @meanmommy33

Congratulations @meanmommy33! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68820.96
ETH 3915.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64