A Choir'd

in #life4 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART--253854897.jpg

The office was damp and stinky and not solely due to the Java Developers penchant for removing their shoes and trotting about in their socks.

I leaned back in my chair and listened to the drumming of the rain on our tin roof.

Fucking Scottish winters. I remember when they used to actually be cold and snowy.

I thought.

Fortunately my descent into becoming an old complaining Grandpa was halted by the arrival of a snaggletooth'd monstrosity at my desk.

BoomDawg!

It brayed through a mouthpiece that a Donkey would be proud to call it's own.

I peered closely at it, realising that this was no gollum here to footer about with my ring. No, it was Bandersnatch, a bony manager in procurement.

Evening officer.

I replied.

Bandersnatch frowned then smiled. Presumably the idea of being addressed of as officer giving him some kind of semi.

You are probably wondering what brings me here?

Said Bandersnatch as if we were in an old Western movie and I were playing the part of a loose vagina'd, Saloon owning Betty and he, a poorly shaven gunslinger desperate for a whisky.

Not really.

I replied with a flat lizard-like stare.

Bandersnatch chuckled anxiously like a OG Steemian sending 10 SBD to a bidbot.

I'm here for the choir!

He examined with genuine false cheer.

Ot ucking kyre?

I said without moving my lips.

Inwardly, I congratulated myself on my astounding ventriloquism.

Bandersnatch frowned as he deciphered what I said.

The Christmas choir. We have it every year. You know, in reception? First thing in the morning? We greet everyone coming in. Christmas carols, you know... for charity?

He sounded almost desperate.

Oh that.

I sniffed.

Yes that. So what do you say, you up for it? You want to join in? It's only three mornings next week?

He asked.

I made a face as if catching someone farting into the office kettle.

Am I fuck. Isn't it just all the management arse-lickers that do the choir?

I shuddered at the very idea.

Oh go on, we are really short. No one wants to do it this year.

He fixed me with a pleading look.

I set my mouth in a grin line and folded my arms across my chest. I snorted and prepared to deliver a devastating and cleverly insulting refusal.

Oh, hi guys!

Bandersnatch and I turned to see who had dared interrupt our chest beating.

It was Fenelope a lady who was so mesmerising beautiful that each and every male in the office wished that they could be the man filling her bath with milk each morning.

I hope I'm not too late to join the choir?

She asked Bandersnatch with a smile that could resurrect dead goldfish.

Oh no. You must certainly are not, we still have a few spaces left!

Exclaimed he of the grievous tooth.

Are you up for it too?

Asked Penelope turning her radiant smile on me.

Something dark and menacing stirred in my under-thing.

Bandersnatch made to speak but I cut him off with an imperious hand.

Oh yes. Sign me up. I'm all in!

Sort:  

Lovin this story BoomDawg! The bants with the odious Bandersnatch, the milky bath filling sexual tension with Penelopem it has got it all 🙂

Bandersnatch chuckled anxiously like a OG Steemian sending 10 SBD to a bidbot.

Ha ha, I'm disliking this office buffoon Bandersnatch more and more each time I read of him.

I have to admit, at the risk of being a wee bit crude, that there was a lady at the office at my old job like Penelope who's mass of curly hair and massive chest would have enticed me even into a Christmas choir!

She was basically like my work flirt-mate. We'd always made jokes to each other about 'what happens at the Christmas party, stays at the Christmas party'... then the project I was working on lost it's lottery funding just before xmas 2016 and I was out of a job. Fckn big lottery cheated me of a fumble behind the photocopy with work wifey. I wouldn't mind but I had just split up with my Girlfriend at the time as well so it was green lights.

It put me right off Christmas... bah humbug 😂

I think this phenelope and the lady at your work have a lot in common!

I am now kicking myself though. I really don't want to sing Christmas carols!

I do like a work flirting it must be said!! :0D

Nothing better than a good ole fashioned work flirt... brings a whole new meaning to the line 'tis the season to be jolly' 😂

Enjoy the caroling dude :)

Lol, it does indeed!

I will try, if I get terribly bored I can just gaze, love-sick puppy styley at the lady! :O)

!BEER
for you

"Bandersnatch chuckled anxiously like a OG Steemian sending 10 SBD to a bidbot."

Haha!

So...The choir huh? That sounds like fun...Not. Still, I have to applaud you for joining in to help bolster the ranks...Hope you get to sing next to Penelope...That should make a good post...

A choir, I know. I might have to wear a disguise or something. I mean, I aint always the coolest kid on the block but I don't know if my street cred can take a choir singing hit!!

And yeah, thats where I hope to stand :OD

You really are a soft touch XD

Just wait til he tells Penelope what you said about the choir being management arse lickers XD

I am. I am easily influenced!!!

I will of course deny such a thing. After all I have the perfect alibi in that I am doing it!!

Once again bewitched by a girl.... but I am sure you are doing it with pleasure. Thank you for giving the explanation to 'semi', but I think if somebody do not know what it is, they are too young to read your posts hahaha

Hehe, I always worry that if I put something in that someone somewhere will be like, wtfunk is that!

And bewitched again. There's no fool like an old fool!!

Well you are doing it for the goodwill of it all.... nothing else. Stick to that story if the good lady asks LOL

Yeah, in doing it for the charity... I swear!! ;0)



Hey @meesterboom, here is a little bit of BEER from @eii for you. Enjoy it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75