Bang Bang

in #life5 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART--1387019966_1.jpg

Daddy-Bear, would you be able to whip up a quick something to eat? I have asked Olette to stay for dinner.

I looked up from the dark pit of despair that was the chair in which I sat. I was hungover as hell. I hadn't been this hungover since my twenties. I felt as if a Badger had roughly wiped its chuff with me.

I cleared my throat of misery phlegm.

What? Food? Who?

The Good Lady did that hip cocking thing of hers that either meant I was in deep trouble or a sexy party was on its way.

Daddy-Bear? Dinner, can you whip up something fast and tasty?

I grunted as if stifling a frippery fart that might be something a little more solid.

The Good Lady's Doula friend, Olette, clapped her hands together.

Oh Daddy, that would be fab, I have heard so much about your cooking.

I gave Olette a dark look. Call me weird but I don't like being called Daddy by anyone other than my family. Particularly not woodily scented, flowery skirted Doula women.

Aye. We have pork, what about the Pork Bang Bang?

Olette looked intrigued or constipated.

Oh, what's that?

It's a spicy cumin based pork curry and it can be ready in fifteen minutes.

She smiled at my answer as if privy to ancient secrets of the universe.

Sounds Malaysian?

She said with a witchy upturn to the side of her mouth.

The hangover waves pounded harshly on the parched beach of my soul.

Yeah, kind of.

I remarked with a debonair shrug of a handsome shoulder.

I heaved myself to my feet and fought the rolling nausea that boomed down on to me. The room swayed and rocked as if we were at sea.

Doesn't that make you guilty of cultural appropriation then?

Asked Olette with a face of deep serious.

I let out a sigh. It was a majestic sigh. Like the wind rustling through Autumn trees warning of the winter to come.

I shook my head and headed into the kitchen, pausing only momentarily to comment over my shoulder.

Only if I was an utter dick.

Bloody Doulas.

Sort:  

I thought you would pull out all the goodies to woo your special fan. You are lucky she never volunteered to come and help you in the kitchen. I bet she did and you never mentioned it.

She did actually, she managed to get under my feet quite spectacularly!!!

The whole world needs to chill a bit. Everyone is so offended by everything these days.

You know I was thinking the same lately. It's like people look for offense. It's especially hard when you try to be funny and area terrified you will be lynched for something taken the wrong way!

Oh the joy!

Seems we are always skating on thin ice even if trying to have a normal conversation!

You just can't have a normal conversation with some folk!!

"guilty of cultural appropriation" - WTF? Is that a thing now? Has the whole world gone mad?

I had to look it up. I could barely believe it was what it sounded like!? It's a thing now apparently!

Love the description of a hangover here... You've got it spot on!

Lol, I had to Google what a Doula was, that's what ya get for not having kids; a complete lack of Doula knowledge 🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

I didn't know what they were before having kids either. Its nuts!! :0)

Is speaking foreign languages also cultural appropriation these days? Just wondering.

En la bush!

I'm struggling now!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @meesterboom!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.229 which ranks you at #262 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 261).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 166 contributions, your post is ranked at #25.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

You got a 34.10% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @meesterboom! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60625.76
ETH 2898.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62