Crabfoot

in #life6 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART--1812107881_1.jpg

What is conflict?

The lady in front of me asked softly.

I stared at her in abject horror. We sat mere feet apart facing one another. She was wearing lots of floaty things and had mad lion-like hair

But that is not what horrified me. That is not what drew my eye and filled me with the deep-seated need to projectile vomit and run away at the same time.

ki2d_20180710113930438_20180710234050535_20180713153626509.jpg

She was wearing open-toed sandals and her toes were poking out. On each foot her middle toe was bigger than her second toe.

ki2d_20180710113930438_20180710234050535_20180713154521272.jpg

Each middle toe looked like one of the legs of an Alien Facehugger. It made each of her feet look like awful blotchy crabs.

I drew my eyes away from it with a shudder and back to her face. She was in the middle of blithering something inane about conflict.

It was the second of my one-on-one coaching session's which my work had bizarrely decided would be a fabulous idea for all its staff. They were meant to boost morale and productivity.

My first session had been a load of pish.

This didn't look to be shaping up to be any better.

ki2d_20180710113930438_20180710234050535_20180713170703893.jpg

So... Conflict can be many things, can't it?

She answered herself with a confident yet rhetorical questioning air.

Um, yes, it most certainly can.

I managed to get out through gritted teeth.

How do we deal with conflict?

I made a face as if receiving a hot rum enema.

ki2d_20180710113930438_20180710234050535_20180713154759152.jpg

Mmmm mm?

I mumbled, trying to look wise.

On her right foot her middle toe twitched as if rooting for grubs. I made a coughing noise.

She smiled, a knowing smile.

Have you heard of reflection?

Of course I have you crab-footed nonce. I am not an idiot. Instead of saying this I elected to nod and screw my eyes closed a little as if peering through smoke.

ki2d_20180710113930438_20180710234050535_20180713155613044.jpg

She smiled again and moved one of her alien feet to within striking distance of me. I pressed myself back in my chair in case it leapt up at my face.

When we reflect we ask questions. By asking questions we can ascertain the issue and perhaps suggest alternate methods of resolution.

She leant forward in her chair.

The broad aim of these sessions is to enable you. How does that make you feel?

She said brightly.

Fucking horrified at the state of your feet, put them away. I was tempted to say.

Instead I forced a grin out from somewhere deep and black inside me.

ki2d_20180710113930438_20180710234050535_20180713170519885.jpg

That makes me feel good, I am learning so much from these sessions. Really good stuff that I think will give me that little jump start that I think we can all, at times, require.

She let out a little yip of pleasure.

That's great, isn't it remarkable just how much of a difference we can make just by talking?

I swallowed down my fear of her crabby feet along with my most of my pride and smiled and nodded and continued to do so like an obedient work puppy throughout the rest of the session.

At least it's Friday.

Sort:  

If the sessions were working and you are feeling “enabled” then maybe you could have enabled yourself to chop that toe down to normal size. Nothing better than being in a rubbernecker situation. It’s like her foot was a car accident where the vehicles were mangled but you just can’t stop looking as you’re driving by. Been there before. Then you start wondering if the person realizes your staring, this moves onto thinking of course, they must be used to people staring at that but yet they still put it on display.

That's maximum enablement! Yeah!

I think it was weirdly natural! Says the weirdo who couldn't stop staring, lol!!

Oh yes..I have seen many such as this 'crab footed nonce' of which you speak! Working in retail, in Florida mind you, the state of feet in general is horrific. I try not to look, but sometimes it is unavoidable.

I try not to look either. We are blessed by bad weather meaning feet are normally hidden away but in our short summer... They are out!!!

hahaa there's the makings of a good horror movie in there somewhere

Lol, there are the makings of a good horror movie in everything!! :OD

@meesterboom, there is something even worse then that... have you seen geisha feet back in old times? the feet were bound and strapped so they couldn't grow outwards, geisha's always used small shoes so the feet wouldn't grow too... you can already imagin what happened....

If you still don't get it just do a quick google search ..." geisha feet"

BTW, i'm not to blame for any puking, PTSD or anything that results after this google search xD

Oh yes, I have seen them before. Google most certainly has its uses!! Lol!

Perhaps these so-called mentors and their quirks are the true test? A test within a test, a game within a much larger game. The maze is all around you, and you are smack-dabbed in the middle of it, bro-tato!

My goodness now there is a thought. I can only hope that I am playing the game sufficiently well not to lose!!

Although perhaps they don't realise that I have been playing that grand game since I entered this world!!!!

SPOILER ALERT You really are! Is it our destiny to unveil whoever it is behind the curtain!?

In my book it is always wise to have more than one curtain!

I know it is weird but I so do have a maximum anti-foot fetish. I can't stand seeing those horrible creature like things!

Me too!! I am transfixed by the very horror of them and when they are bad I am like eeeek get away!!!

you're lucky she didn't pinch you

I've never seen a crab foot
lol .. I had to check my feet myself and glad to see my middle finger is shorter than that of the closest to the big toe ..
we only know ginger toes in Asia - that's what we say when one's toes don't seem to see eye to eye lol

Hehe, I shall remember that one. Ginger toes - so good!

The lady must have genuinely thought that you like her coaching. You did a great job at masking your inner thoughts or else she would freak out. Upvoted!

I nodded and made authoratitive mmm'ing noises. So I suspect that she did indeed think I liked her style :O)

My second toe is bigger than my first. I think that must mean something....but whatever it means, it cant be good lol. Sucks being Charlie Brown lol.

Oh I know that type of foot. My mate has one like it. We call him spanky!

Some people should never wear open-toed shoes, just like women with very wide derrieres should never wear horizontal stripes or tight-fitting jeans...it gives other people nightmares!

And this was exactly my thinking as it lured my eyes in at every turn. I almost ran away!

I never know whether to run or be sick...

It's a hard call to make!!

Ah yes. Conflict resolution. I remember such courses.

"If you come within 10 feet of me ever again I'll kick your teeth in, rip your arm off, and hit you over the head with the bloody end" is not the right answer to some of the questions they asked us.

I learned so much that day.

Ha, it might not have been the right answer for them but its the right answer to me!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83