Ducked

in #life5 years ago

_IMG_000000_000000.jpg

I don't think that's a Lion.

Said the Father-in-Law ponderously as if his voice were an iceberg calving from a large ice shelf.

I gave him the stink eye for about the twelve-teenth time that day.

It is a Lion.

I said tersely, trying to pretend that we were friends because we were related by the past issuance of his loins.

No. I think it's a cougar, it doesn't have a mane.

He uttered with a smug finality.

cfjj1552_6f_20190407160645859_20190408203300125.jpg

This had been going on all day and I was going demented. We had decided to take the kids to Scotland's only Safari Park which rather conveniently is halfway between the City we live and the City that the Good Lady's father lives.

This meant a meetup was arranged so that he could see his Grandchildren and we could all be jolly together.

Except, Mr Father-in-Law is very opinionated and always thinks he is right and had been wrongly identifying animals all day long and insisting he was correct. All this despite the fact there were information boards before every enclosure telling you exactly what was in there.

Not that it mattered much, a Lion is a fucking Lion and you don't need a sign to tell you.

Female Lions don't have manes. It's a Lion.

cfjj1552_6f_20190407160645859_20190408203449235.jpg

He looked at me and gave me a faint smile. The kind of smile you give a baby who has done a shit in the bath.

I shook my head and at a warning glance from the Good Lady held my tongue and we moved on.

To a large enclosure that had two ostriches in it. They were pecking morosely around in the dirt looking as if they thought Scotland was shit and wondering if it ever got warm.

cfjj1552_6f_20190407160645859_20190408203647357.jpg

Hey Little Lady! Check out the big bad Ostriches!

I exclaimed to my daughter.

I don't think that's an Ostrich.

Intoned the Father-in-Law almost predictably.

It is.

I said with a stern tone that brooked no further discussion.

No. No. I think... I think it's a Gnu.

I glared at the big bearded loon that I had the good fortune to call my Father-in-Law.

A Gnu?! A Gnu isn't even a bird.

I said, the annoyance in my tone seeping through like the aftertaste of a Huel milkshake.

Yes it is.

Answered the Father-in-Law equally as annoyed sounding as me.

cfjj1552_6f_20190407160645859_20190408203845191.jpg

You are thinking of an Emu.

I said flatly, waving a hand around as if some kind of arse-fly was trying to land on my face and make sweet love to my lips.

Ah. Ah, yes. You are right. Ok, then. Yes, it's an Emu.

Except it wasn't an Emu. It was a fucking Ostrich. We were standing beside a sign which said so.

Look at the sign?! It's a fucking Ostrich!

I hissed so as not to be heard by the Little Lady.

Her Father made a face as if I was singing Baby Shark whilst playing with my nipples.

There's no need to swear.

He said piously.

Yes, Daddy-Bear. Cut the swearing out please?

The good lady chipped in.

I gritted my teeth so that the torrent of sweary filth that was backed up in my gullet wouldn't fly out. I tapped the sign beside me, hard.

It's. An. Ostrich.

The Father-in-Law peered short-sightedly at the sign, shook his head and tittered.

The sign could be wrong. I think it is an Emu.

He said with an amused twist to his face as if he were a Badger that had just found a pine cone in the woods covered in poo and rolled it home to its wife.

The Good Lady held her phone out warily at me as if I was a wild animal. There was a picture of an Emu on it she had obviously googled.

They are very similar?

She chirped.

Steam started to bubble and spit from my ears and I clenched my fists as if strangling invisible baby otters.

Daddy? It could be an Emu?

Piped up the Little Lady.

Everyone looked at me expectantly. I looked at the giant Ostrich behind them. Then I smiled back with a brittle brightness.

You know what?

I said with deranged sounding cheer.

I think we are all wrong. I know what it is now!

What, what is it?

They chorused almost as one.

It's a fucking duck. Quack quack.

It was a long and uncomfortable drive home.

Sort:  

@meesterboom Hello dear friend, what a beautiful visit to the safari, I think you should invite him more often. It's amazing that there are people like that, but there are, I had a boss of this type, he knows what it was for me to work all the days for two years. so I understand. I must admit that you manage it very well.
I wish you an excellent afternoon

I manage be it ok normally, today was a disaster but I was happy for it :0)

ha! x 10 today boom! I could quote my favorites, but I'll just show gratitude for you ending my day with a smile, by Resteeming this post to the same list of active users that are already following you :D

Nope, couldn't resist:

.... as if he were a Badger that had just found a pine cone in the woods covered in poo and rolled it home to its wife.

Class! :D

Not sure why but the copy/paster wants that fat white line underneath today, is it the weekend already?!

If only it was the weekend!! It seems so far away!!

Hehe, probably to the exact same list but cheers!! ;0D

It's like a jackpot repeater, but the prizes are mostly Huel and long car rides home :O

I prefer my jackpot repeaters to some more of fancy colours and make whooa whooa noises filled by the clinking of coins.

Ah happy days!!!!

Back in the day, I could empty my pocket of quids in no time into the colourful machine in the corner. Barely had a sip of my pint at times, doh!

I was exactly the same. Oh man, I can actually remember sweet times winning the jackpot on some machines. I think it was the coronation Street one that was my favourite. I got a job contracting before contracting was a proper thing. At least a proper thing that I was aware of and I was like the richest man alive, so I thought. Lol, puggy tastic

'eh up duck', i seem to remember being one of the phrases popping out of that machine, a classic :)

I don't play anymore, spent my last dime!

I don't play them either, they became less fun when the prize money went up and it seemed like they became more obvious soul sucking money machines.

Still, happy memories!

Next time, lift little lady, walk to the sign, grab her hand and spell out the word L. i. o. n spells lion and that one without the mane is a girl lion, just like you.
By this time everybody else has moved on to the next animal,

Ever watched your father in law try to change gears in his car using the indicators, muttering " I don't know what's wrong with this car" .. Sometimes it is hard to keep a straight face, and live. ( she who must be obeyed was in the car as well)

Hehe, that works be excellent to see. BV if only this one drove I could share that joy!! It is funny when they are basically totally wrong!

a\Also how sharp the point of the Boss's elbow in the ribs is, as well.
Later, the Good Lady will tell her friends, and laugh about it.
The Little Lady will remember Grand Father as a silly old bloke who didn't know his animals.
Eventually, you come out smelling of roses, as long as you learn to "keep yer gob shut"

The ultimate aim is always the smelling of roses. It's just so difficult at times!

Does he do this just to get under your skin? Is he cackling wildly in his head as he watches your face turn brighter shades of red? I know some people like that...want. to punch. their faces. Hahaha!

I think he does and I could let it go if it wasn't so farcical. Staring at a fucking lion and saying that's not a lion - I am like, are you cuckoo!?

Still, I had the last laugh :0D

Are you 'sure' it wasn't a "A Gnu?! " MeesterBoom???? Now, now...settle down, I'm just sayin...know what I mean???

You mean it might have been? Oh no. Malone maybe I have been a pie!! The poor man! ;0)

I almost always have lots of sweary filth backed up in my gullet. It's healthy to purge it every once in a while. Fucking ducks.

geese.jpg

Look at those filthy fucking duck bastards!! With their cheery duck bastard faces. Fucking ducks!!

They are the worst filthy fucking duck bastards in the world. I hope they all fucking die

Me too. In a lot full of burning flames where their quacks will echo for eternity!

They will be ugly fucking ducklings forever! Fire and brimstone upon their cheery duck bastard faces!

Hi @meesterboom!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.322 which ranks you at #215 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 211 contributions, your post is ranked at #5.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I would have fed the smart ass to the lion. I know what you are up against now and it isn't fun. Whoopeee let's go see the in-laws. Bring him to Africa and we will show him animals with no bars and he would wish it was a Cougar. Cougars are good and at your age should be wishing to see one walking around purring.

Those kind of cougars defo!! Oh man, it was terrible. Everything was not right and he had a counter view to it. I seemed like an old grump but I was only stating the obvious. All of the enclosures were labelled with loads of info on the occupants!

I shall endeavour to send him to africa :OD

Thank you for participating in the "cheers" fun post by @jaynie

The @theluvbug has given you a 100% upvote and a resteem.
If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug
then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of AWESOME Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

PHC-Footer-05.gif

I love a luvbug!

Bwahahaha! I think your posts are the only ones that make me actually laugh out loud.

Hehe, cheers lass. I aim to please!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86