The Daughters

in #life6 years ago (edited)

IMG-PHOTO-ART-1047203132.jpg

The good lady hefted the little boom into the mad hippy sling thing we have and waved over her shoulder.

See you in an hour, Daddy, Enjoy your me time!

I watched them go with a smile and waved from the door till they were out of sight. Once they were, I slammed the door shut and locked it.

potagb_20180128203020454.jpg

Woot woot!

I shouted, clapping my hands together.

I was a little hungover and to have been given an unexpected hour of child and good lady freedom during the day was a huge bonus. What was I to do with myself? I wandered into the living room. Perhaps I should catch up on some episodes of Preacher? Maybe boot up the Xbox and get some Fallout on the go?

I caught a glimpse of myself in the mirror and gave my reflection a flirty wink.

Handsome bastard.

I whispered.

I walloped some coffee on and pulled my Chromebook out. A little Steeming perhaps before deciding to do anything. As I opened the Chromebook it's battery indicator flashed red at me.

potagb_20180128203221093.jpg

Bollocks. Where was the charger? Damn, I remembered, the good lady had taken it up to the attic which she had been using as a study lately. She had started her Doula training and had been spending some time up there doing research. I headed up the stairs.

Our attic has been split into two little rooms, one a study and one a little bedroom for guests. The study door was closed.

potagb_20180128203555464.jpg

That struck me as a little odd. We never close the study because of the cats. I like to give them free reign everywhere. I rested my hand on the handle and pushed the door open.

The door creaked and opened up onto the dim interior of the attic. The good lady has been moving stuff about and the desk sat in the middle of the room illuminated by a shaft of weak light from the small window.

On the desk lay a thick A4 sized notebook. I had never seen it before, From where I stood I could see swirls and patterns and some big red writing on the cover. I was intrigued. I moved closer.

The house was eerily quiet, the attic room even more so. I shivered slightly. Was it cold up here?

Get a hold of yourself man.

I admonished myself loudly as I stepped up to the desk.

I gazed at the notepad before me. It was a journal by the looks of it. Of course, the good lady had told me she was starting a journal of her Doula nonsense. It was a part of the training. I read the cover.

potagb_20180128203756744.jpg

Was emblazoned in red wax among strange whorls and ridged daubs of something that was hopefully paint.

What the fuck was this? I shivered again, damn, those words gave me the chills. I wondered, should I open it and have a peek at what she had been writing? I knew I shouldn't but I couldn't resist. I reached out a hand and touched the cover.

I'm sorry. I could not find the information you were looking for.

Boomed a loud female voice from the corner of the room.

YAAAIIEEEEK!

I screeched and jumped back a couple of paces. My heart thundered in my chest and my ears, BOOM BOOM, BOOM BOOM. I looked over in the corner in time to see the Amazon Echo's lights wink out.

potagb_20180128204039466.jpg

It was only Alexa. Fuckity baws, I had near shat myself with fright. Bloody Alexa, always going off on one when her name was not even spoken. The good lady was talking about getting smart lights. Well, fuck that. That's two-thirds of the way to SkyNet and I am not having it.

Calming myself I stepped forward and again reached for her Doula journal, the brown and ochre swirls on the cover drawing my eyes in a strangely hypnotic way.

There was a creak on the stairs below.

I froze. I knew that creak. Something was coming up the stairs. I turned round in slow motion, my heart once again pounding at a rate of knots. A voice in my head was gibbering Please don't be a witch or a monster or a monstery witch.

Something moved in the shadows near the door. I took a deep intake of breath.

potagb_20180128204200110.jpg

My cat, Shady, padded into view. She sat and looked at me, her amber eyes stark against her inky black fur.

Oh Jeebus Shady. You gave me a fright!!

I gave a nervous laugh which echoed in the small space. Bloody hell, talk about spooking yourself. I had goosebumps on my arms and everything. I turned back to the Journal.

Right you, you are getting read.

I picked it up. The cover oddly warm in my hand. I opened it at the first page. There was something glued to the first page. It looked like tree bark?

Downstairs I heard the door unlock and the noise of the good lady returning.

Oh, shitty baws!!!

I slammed the book down and ran downstairs. As I neared the bottom I saw the good lady come in and look up at me.

Had to come home, Little boom puked all over everything. We are soaked in it... Daddy? Are you ok? You look really pale?

I'm ok lass, just got a fright hearing the door. But it's you!

I gave my best everything is ok, I wasn't masturbating grin.

She stared at me quizzically and tilted her head to one side.

Where were you upstairs? Were you in the attic?

I gulped.

No lass?

She looked at me for slightly longer than a real human should and moved off into the living room. I heaved a big sigh of relief. My legs felt wobbly.

Oh my flippety jings.

I thought, as my testicles made an involuntary skooking noise like cotton wool rubbed between fingers.

Witchery!

Sort:  

lol!
you got a cat and she's a Steemian? kidding..
hmmm... had too much beer chico?

Heheeh, no beer tonight!! Or today! Thats right there is a steemian called shady!

We named her after eminem many years ago!

ahahahha .. slim shady :D
that explains the stuffed cats of the lil doll
still awake you chico?
aren't we owls? :D

We are owls indeed although this owl is finally fit for sleep!!

Yas, she loves her toy cats as she can actually cuddle those ones hehe

I don't even know where to start with this, hahahahaaa, oh God! Skynet, I'll start with skynet...actually this might have nothing to do with anything, but my hubby just bought an Oculus Rift, yep, we've got it, and I've become a gamer! Er, well, a "My turn to ride the Epic Rollercoaster-er!" Or have a dinosaur roar in my face....makes me think of skynet for some reason though....and witchery, a whole new kind! (Maybe I should lay off the episodes of Mr. Robot?)

skooking would absolutely be my new favorite word, just have to separate your testicles from it first.

My testicles aint easily separated from the skooking...

hehe!!

An oculus rift! AWw man they are awesome. Some games are so detailed its like creepy and so immersive! I am slightly jealous as I want one and my mates have them but being a new Dad I dont have time to use it if I got it! sob!!

I would call the Preacher if I was you :D

I think he might be the only one with the wherewithal to save me!!

Or he could make it worse. Genesis is rather unpredictable.

Right enough. Could raze the whole house. or even the neighborhood!!

That was a close one! Next time you should be holding a feather duster or a broom when you enter female territory, just in case. "I was only tidying up a bit, lass."

OH man, that is an utterly amazing idea!! Of course. the perfect cover. Thank you! :OD

So glad I could help! Watch out for that witchery. :D

arrrgghhh! Alexa! I hate her! My husband talks to her all in a nice sweet voice like if he doesn't, she won't give him the right answer. SOmetimes I use Alexa to keep my grocery list and then I use the app in the grocery store, the list is all there. Well, hubby sometimes sneakily walks by Alexa and says stuff like "Alexa, put sweaty balls on the shopping list" And then I get to the store, and well, okay it's a good laugh.

But back to your jittery self...don't you share the attic office area? She's gonna have to fess up about the witches!!

Sweaty balls on the shopping list. Thats magic!

Well technically we do but I havent been up there in a while. I do all my stuff in the living room cos its got a big table! You are right though, she is gonna fess up!

oh no, Mr. Boom! Looks like she's got your testicles under her spell

She couldnt wither them any more! lol!

Jesus Bananas, adventures in the attic never end well! :D

I should steer clear of the attic. Except I am scared to go in the basement ;O)

Jeebus that one gave me the creeps! Is it a full moon or something? I don't envy the next guest of yours who gets put up in the other side of that attic, to say the least.

HEhehe, its only family that usually stays. Her family, so I don't mind letting them up there lol!

Just be careful, they'll end up working on their sorcery up there and could conjure up some pretty nasty spells to use on you. In fact, I think one may have recently been used to make you think trying raspberry fruit beer was a good idea...

The fathers :)

Haha, good one!

I have thought of getting one of these listening skynet thing but I'll probably go for the google one if ever.

The amazon one is really good. I like it a lot, Its very polished. I am a huge google fan and would have got theres but amazon beat them to it

Competition is good for consumers

It is, if you get the google one you will have to let me know how it is!

not in the near future. perhaps to consider Christmas deals. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69828.11
ETH 3825.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55