Thursdays With Uncle Boom #87

in #life5 years ago

meesterboom-uncleboom_mp.jpg

For charity, you say?

I looked up at the crudely painted sign at the entrance of the church hall and made a my nipple is not an ashtray kind of face.

I was with my two good friends Anulus and Rory. Both fine fellows despite having faces like diseased trees.

Yes, old chap. For the 'Rhododendron's' apparently.

Rhododendron's, are you quite sure?

I said with a raised eyebrow that would put Ron Howard's annual erection to shame.

Yes, Rhododendron's. I believe they are being persecuted for their beliefs or some such twaddle?

Answered Anulus sounding a little uncertain himself.

I wasn't sure that decorative shrubbery could be persecuted or have beliefs but hey ho, it's a bloody fast paced world we live in and it could be hard to keep up.

I took my special occasion pipe out, The Bastard.

the_bastard.jpg

It was fashioned exclusively from the shin bone of an exhumed 18th Century German duke and lent a savory bite to whatever smoke trummelled through it.

I took an appreciative puff, contemplating the cost of the tickets for the event. 200 pounds, there had better be some damned good entertainment and not just a bunch of peons biting each others cocks.

Alright then gentlemen, lead the way...

We entered the Charity Fair.

sevenpipes.jpg

I'm fucking bored.

I scowled.

There was precious little within the charity fair to entertain such fine gentlemen as we three. Not even a lady of ill repute to offer a hand shandy.

Me too, Boomy.

Sighed Anulus.

He passed on the Rum that we had sneaked in like errant schoolboys. It was our second bottle. We all felt a little squiffed.

Rory in particular was not impressed.

Fucking charity and there's no hooers? What kind of do is this!?

He growled, pacing to and fro. His pipe was being so frantically puffed that the end glowed slightly like a recently photographed black hole.

I say, fellows. What's that?

I pointed over to the far corner. There seemed to be some brightly lit games being advertised.

We walked toward them. As we got closer the signs became easier to read.

Bowling? What? I don't see a lawn, how can there be bowling?

I spat on the wooden floor much to an old biddy's disgust.

We barreled up to the front of the so called Bowling Alley.

You there, what's this all about?

I pointed with The Bastard at his sign and the long lane behind him which looked as if it ended in a chimney.

The peon in charge of the Bowling grunted at me and giggled maliciously at me.

Has sir never played 10 Pin Bowling? Oh my. Well, you grab one of these big balls and throw it down the alley and try to knock over those pins at the end! If you knock over all ten you win a teddy bear!

He grinned as if he had just licked a dead cats arse.

I looked to Rory and Anulus.

I'm no stranger to rattling my balls into a dark recess. What's this other game though?

I pointed at the sign beside the Ten Pin Bowling.

It said DodgeBall.

The grub face peon observed us with a sadistic leer.

Well sirs, if the bowling balls are too heavy for such fine lords as yourselves you can play DodgeBall. The aim is to hit me with one of these.

The peon lifted a garishly coloured, soft rubber ball and dandied it on his finger.

Rory guffawed and cast aside the Rum bottle he had just finished.

So we get to hit you with our balls eh!

He roared, a grin spreading out over his face.

The peon made a pinched face as if having to drink Campari and Soda.

It's 10 quid a throw.

He patted the lurid balls in the rack beside him.

It's for charity.

He added in a nasal whine.

I looked at the fellows. At last some real entertainment.

Alright then, peon. There is one hundred pounds. In you get, we will take ten balls.

The peon's eyes gleamed like cheap glass. He took the money, giggling all the while and entered the brightly padded DodgeBall area.

Carry on, fellows.

I patted my two friends on the shoulders and watched as they drunkenly tried to hit the peon with the dodgeballs.

He's a fast fucker!

Grunted Anulus, after throwing his third ball and missing the peon who was indeed leaping and cavorting around like a dervish.

Yes, can't fucking get near him!

Guffawed Rory with great delight. Sweat shining on his face as he threw yet another ball at the peon who seemed to have the reflexes of a cat.

Can't catch me!!

Taunted the peon as he leapt and twirled out of the way of each and every DodgeBall thrown at him.

You will need to try harder!! Urrghhk!?

The bowling ball I flung crashed off the side of his shoulder and spun him to the ground.

STEEE-RIKE!!!

Yelled Anulus.

Rory turned and looked at me in astonishment.

Bloody hell, Boomy. What a shot! You never cease to amaze!

I inclined my head graciously then nodded to the bowling balls I had lifted over from the bowling alley.

Help yourselves gentlemen, I am sure you will have more luck with these!

The peon struggled to his feet, clutching his shoulder. His face twisted in pain.

What the fuck are you doing, gaaarhk!?

He went down as the bowling ball quickly thrown by Anulus clipped the side of his head.

Good shot Anulus!

I clapped Anulus on the shoulder. He was grinning from ear to ear at his shot.

The peon raised a swaying hand.

What... What are you doing!?

His words bubbled out feebly from his bloodied mouth.

What are we doing?

I hefted another ball and let fly.

You shouldn't ask such a thing, after all...

agentnvrtells.jpg

Sort:  

10 Peon Bowling, I see opportunities here.

Hahaha!! Yes indeed, a world of opportunity ahead!

He went down as the bowling ball quickly thrown by Anulus clipped the side of his head.

Typical Northern barbarians; no wonder the Romans held back South of ya...

Lol, it's in the blood!

Howdy sir meesterboom! The ways that Uncle Boom finds to kill peon's is endless, he's so creative that way! lol.

Lol, it is getting to be a struggle!

I'm sorry to hear that sir meesterboom but I reckon all good things come to an end!

Still aiming for the magic 100!! ;0)

I have mixed feelings about that 100 don't you? After we've gotten to know him so well and you especially, we just hope you don't start acting like him! lol. He's already influenced me by bringing "peons" into my vocabulary!

Hehe. Well, mixed in a way definitely I have it all planned!

oh, you already have it all planned out! very interesting sir meesterboom! that's going to be an epic post!

I can but hope, it will probably be a massive anti-climax!

There ain't no humanity in Uncle Boom!!! :0)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

How did he throw a bowling ball like a dodge ball? O_O

He is beastly strong! :0)

Or he could be doing candlepin bowlling like we have in New England, even I can throw that ball :) And I'm just a weak silly girl ;)

I actually prefer candlepin. They made notice of it on Simspons once, we're a breed of our own in my state of Massachusetts.

Goodness me! I had never heard of this How splendid!

#edit. I am going to try and find s place that does this here!

As a local would say, "Candlepin is Wicked pissah" ;)

Lol. My kind of language!!

Congratulations @meesterboom! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 190000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 200000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi @meesterboom!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.328 which ranks you at #216 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 228 contributions, your post is ranked at #34.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 21.84% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @meesterboom! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 45 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97