Thursdays With Uncle Boom #92

in #life5 years ago

9vWp6aU4y8kwSZ9Gw15LFL3aMdhmgmBBFMpDJregpdP328ijsxPSBorEQnNPzNmF7yrLLVjRqr8GSG6MDCC9eDAKTXQwXbKqEry7pAbLqnt9hH3tubmGJj27fkYvbE7pegV69gbCpYiN8oGHk (1).jpeg

The icy waters of the river slammed over my head as I fought and kicked against the bonds that held me.

Bastard!

I kicked myself above the surface momentarily and expelled what precious little air there was in my lungs to yell at the vagabond watching me impassively, mere feet away.

He was so close, standing on a wooden planked pier easily within reach of an outstretched arm.

If your arms were not tied tightly behind your back that was.

I kicked frantically.

This was not how it was meant to be?

The waters closed over my head once more, the water, even in the dim light seemed bright with the bubbling churn of my struggles.

Again I breached the surface.

Help me, damn it!?

I spat at the figure above.

I noticed that he had lit up a pipe and was regarding me with some merriment as I thrashed in vain to stay atop the water.

Even as I battled an imminent drowning I took a moment to appreciate the scent of the baccy he was smoking. A fine blend, one of my favourites, Fifi's Nook, prepared by Hungarian widows.

The figure on the pier shook his head and bent to pick up a nearby scrap of wood. He took careful aim before releasing it lazily at my head.

Gah!?

I saw stars as it crumped off the side of my face.

BASTARD!

I managed to roar once more before the waters closed over me and I sank down into the cold murk.

Down I sank, deeper and deeper.

My lungs burned and I longed to let go and gulp for breath but I could not, even as my vision grew darker than the black waters that held me.

My bound hands bumped something and reflexively I jerked around.

A body was there, floating in the caliginous depths. Spiraling slowly around to face me.

The corpse was bloated and pale from prolonged immersion in water, the neck gaping raggedly where it had been sliced open.

Dobbers!?

I thrashed in my death throes, my heart pounding impossibly loud in my ears as everything faded to black.

6VvuHGsoU2QBt9MXeXNdDuyd4Bmd63j7zJymDTWgdcJjnzrra57V9CvaWMsbFVK8rNZLFkBMvaWrjKZJgcwJoAdoptBXHkJH9vbFk9s6gRDGosgKMqJMSwEjgrb3nn (1).jpeg

I wrenched myself awake, my shirt clung to me, drenched in an icy sweat.

I could still hear the pounding of my heart. Wait, no, was that the door?

I lurched up from the chair in my sitting room and staggered to answer it.

Flinging it open, I saw my good friend Anulus. He was panting for breath as if he had just vigorously tupped a wench with his mighty walloper.

Anulus!?

I croaked.

Boomy! It's Dobbers. The police. I'm afraid to say old chap, they found him. He's, he's dead.

I leaned against the door frame. Dobbers, a lifelong friend. Dead. Being no stranger to death, I wouldn't have expected the news to hurt so much.

But it did.

Let me guess, his throat was cut?

My voice was a harsh rasp.

Anulus gasped.

They're not supposed to say but yes, Hilton, he told me his throat was cut and he was dumped in the river.

I winced.

Anulus reached forth steadying me with a firm grip to the shoulder.

How did you know, Boomy?

I thought of my dream and the vagabond on the pier who had cast me into the river. Even in the dark I had recognised him. Even if he hadn't been smoking that damned pipe.

I recognised him because he was me.

I shook Anulus's hand from my shoulder and straightened, gritting my teeth.

How did I know?

I shook my head.

You should know by now, Anulus, old fellow...

99pyU5Ga1kwqSXWA2evTexn6YzPHotJF8R85JZsErvtTWXcpvdERUGjJusdaega4wtKMmrgCPdbwmibpYrxtJefHoq3rtV3egwGqW8zobb1iik4zPBYzJ6k8MGaZQQoAtN.jpeg

Sort:  

I thought it was you as soon as you said you recognized the smell of some whacked out tobacco name. The man with a select band of friends and no enemies as you have killed them all.

They're all dead and now it's the end game! :0)

The suspect baccy was the clue it was you, but how did you get home so fast? :P

Exactly my friend! How!!! Wahahahaha! :0D

' a gentleman never tells' ... now where have I heard that?

Here! Every Thursday! :0D

Aces mate! A different kind of wet dream climax than I'm used to.. Hungarian widows blends are not easy to come by for a vagabond..

Posted using Partiko Android

The best blend are never easy to come by, hehe!

I like simplicity of your blog posts

Not too many footers or banners

Keep it simple and beautiful

Also I like your engagement with your readers

Cheers man!

I am definitely not a fan of the many footered blog post. Some have footers longer than their content!

I love answering every comment, even though it can take quite a bit of effort when things are going well!

Some posts have footers longer than their content

I would say Many

Most definitely!!

haha! so THAT'S what happened to Dobbers. I know it was just a dream, or nightmare, but it was hilarious that even though he was drowning he paused for a moment to appreciate that fine baccy! lol.

He does love his baccy that man!! And oh yes, Dobbers is gone and now Liselle. Who next and whos killing them!

It's a great series sir meesterboom! Do you smoke a pipe? I like the smell of it and I used to but nowdays Mrs. J would throw me out!

Nah. I worked with a guy who smoked one, there were some quite exotic flavours!

ok sir meesterboom, the way you describe Uncle Boom smoking I thought you might be a big smoker yourself. You sure are an expert on the flavors! lol.

Hehe, I did used to smoke though! Just not a pipe!

oh ok, yes sir I did too. Did you quit because it was unhealthy? lol..I can just imagine the Good Lady
and her reaction to smoking!

We come from dirt poor stock where everybody smoke so she was remarkably not too fussed about it. She would freak out now though. It was the cost and the unhealthiness. Here it is almost 12 pounds a pack now!

@meesterboom I did not know it was you until the end. Well played. I enjoy your writing although you use some uncommon vernacular. Where are you from?

I be from deep dark Scotland! Where uncommon vernacular is as common as anything... Well, that bit is a lie, it's just me. Cheers lass!!

Scotland is a beautiful country I dream of visiting one day. As children, we would sing about it. The song "The Bonnie Banks o' Loch Lomond", I also own the dvd, "The Higlander".
My first husband was Scottish, born and raised in America. I could go on but I won't bore you with my trivia.

I think it's splendid trivia!

There are some utterly beautiful places here and done utter squalor. I do love it though. And o live Scottishness!

Besides today's game of golf being traced back to Scotland in 1457, it is the birthplace of Ian Anderson, Jethro Tull, whom I enjoyed in concert as a youth.
I am not a drinker but for many drinkers Scotch whiskey is preferred. Of course I could go on because America loves all that Scotland has to off including @meesterboom

Hehe, we do see a lot of Americans here. I can't blame them of course. We are equally Jen to go to the States, it's funny!

Just lie back on my couch and tell me what comes into your mind........
[trick cyclists would have a ball with you, keep them busy for years, and still come up with
"A Gentleman never tells]

Hehe yup. Could go on and on!!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Awwwwww I missed mR boooommy and my best 007 tale !!! I hope that M17 will not hire you as we need you here..I have been out more than 6 months and gush....this tale is great....upped, always!!!

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63016.70
ETH 3028.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75