Viking Beers!!

in #life6 years ago

20180120_143201_20180120150231207.jpg

Saturday and there is snow everywhere! What does that mean? Well I think it means we should go all Nordic and get the drinking horns out for some crazy Viking beer! That's right. Viking!!

So let's go all Valhalla and pop a cap in Odin's ass!!

First up.

15sh_20_20180116162915511_20180118180016165_20180119152217332_20180120152621863.jpg

_IMG_000000_000000.jpg

This has Viking written all over it. I mean really, look at the Viking head.

20180120_162312.gif

Funky can but what's inside?

It pours a magnificent white gold. It has a lustrous white head like a fine stallion I once rode into battle.

20180120_162113.jpg

Mmm, wheaty wheaty yum yum!! It is a smooth, wintry beer. Citrus hints and little twizzles of coriander merge with the screams of the dying under my eldritch blade. VALHALLA!!!

Oh yes, I do approve of this. It's a great beer for a session and has enough character to cleave an enemy in two. 8/10 battle-axes!!

Cor, I am in the mood for some slaying. What's next?

15sh_20_20180116162915511_20180118180016165_20180119152217332_20180120152920221.jpg

Götterdämmerung!! What is this? Ragnarok, the famous end battle of the Norse Gods culminating in the end of the world as we know it? Well the beer doesn't have much to live up to eh!

20180120_143244-01.jpg

Despite the name this is a Scottish beer, a bloody strong one too judging by the ABV. it claims to be an imperial IPA. Let's see...

20180120_164152.jpg

A dark burnished copper on the pour. It looks grand. Lots of big gassy bubbles in the head. Like that weird sherbet piss you get after eating Thai food.

It tastes good. In fact it's great, very complex compared to the last one. Hops, barley and wheat all merging together into a fine toasted thing. The lingering aftertaste has a slight burnt caramel flavour. It's reminiscent of an Innis and Gunn beer. Like one of the ones that has been matured in rum casks. I like it!

20180120_164826.jpg

Although normally I would score this higher than the last beer there is something lingering with the Viking white beer that I really liked so I am going to score this a draw, 8/10 battle-axes!! Any other day it might have won though :0)

So that's been my Viking beerity. Now I am going to go out and fling my beefy axe about in battle!!!

IMG-PHOTO-ART-344604342.jpg

Raaar!!

Have a great weekend everyone!

Sort:  

Very cool brews! I have cut down on drinking and eating like a savage for now because of how this crypto boom made me fat.

Damn, I was sure I had replied to this! Damn that crypto boom!!

me ha gustado tus fotografías, luego leo el post, voy de salida, que tengas un lindo día amigo. No bebas tanto..hahaha

Do not worry, I hardly touched a drop. Hope you had a good evening!

acabo de llegar a casa, pasé el dia donde mis suegros. Todo bien gracias a Dios.

That White Ale sounds delicious...funny I generally think of dark beers as winter beers, like stouts and porters, which is my whole weekend it would seem haha! But I definitely love a good white ale. Sam Adams had one, or probably has it still I just haven't run across it in awhile, it had serious alcohol content something like 11%. When we lived in Florida the local market sold them and I would use one to kickstart my buzz....good times ;)

I like that attitude! I often like a good kickstart to an evening. I think of dark beers as winter beers as well. Probably the warming comfort factor. This one was wintry of the spirit. It genuinely felt cold as ice.

I should stop talking about beer, is the next morning and I am tempting myself. Lol!!

Reading Innis & Gunn, say no more! :-)
Nordic weather and Viking beer a match made in Valhalla!

Have a great weekend!

Skål!

Skål my friend!!!!

It's a top selection tonight I must say!

excellent find dear friend @meesterboom, the two beers are very appetizing however if I had to choose I would stay with the Ragnarok.
Thank you very much dear friend for another wonderful presentation, I must admit that I am surprised by the amounts of beers in your country
I wish you a wonderful weekend

It seems like every time I think I am running out of beers to try I find even more amazing ones!! Cheers @jlufer!

Oh snap, I DO love braided beards and helmets with horns, and yes, I've been known to cruise cross the lake bare breasted on the front of my john boat blaring Billy Talent's Viking Death March!!! Bring on the Vikings!!!

My goodness me, I couldn't put it better myself!! Hurrah for the Vikings! :0D

You had me at ‘Viking Beers!!’

The beers look great and I really need to start taking notes on which are Brewhalla and which should crawl back into Hel.

That said, I can’t help but trying to find some sort of easteregg in that bookcase of yours whenever it’s in the background. You know brooks with titles like ‘The Thirty Thirsty Tittieslappers Trucking Through Tatabanja’ or ‘Moobs: turn on or turn off’ ...

Ha, there are probably so many bad books in that bookcase. I should clear it out and put only lofty intellectual books in!!

Well, I do believe I see Patrick Rothfuss in there so it sure as high hell can’t be all bad !

Hehe, oh yeah, he is amazing. My ones are good, the wife's ones, hehe. Maybe not so much!

Wait wait ... are we married to the same woman ?! LOL ... bouquet romance novels ... facepalm.

Yeah, I suspect it is so. I despair is the twoddle that shares the vicar with my stuff!! Lol

Dude, you are like a real VIKING! Great photoshoot, especially the photo with the axe. I like the way the first brew look a lot! This Ice-landic thing is definitely like an Icelander's thing.
The IPA looks delicious too!

Great content! Cheers!

Cheers man, it was a very enjoyable tasting!!

I do not envy you with your beers because I do not drink, hahaha, even if they seem provocative, just to take a cold drink with this sun that hits here, unlike your winter.

It does help with the pain of winter!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62656.62
ETH 2941.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59