Family

in #life6 years ago

IMG_5211.JPG

Does anyone else ever feel off? As if nothing else really matters. I think I'm just having a down day and it really sucks. I went to my families house and celebrated my mums birthday today. Her birthday is technically on the 4th of July, but due to work ect we all couldn't come together until today. I'm the only girl in my family (besides from my mum), meaning that when she's not available to plan events, then I will.

Basically I brought and wrapped all of her presents. I also set up the house and made it all magical, just for her. I love my mum so much and I really wish I could give her the world. She's my rock and I don't know what I'd do without her.

Like a lot of children I definitely took my mum for granted. I never treated her right. I was brought up in a 'semi-strict' environment but my dad was always the 'meaner' one. So my mum was the one I'd run to if I'd done something wrong.

Now that I'm older I've realised how much both my parents mean to me. I love them so much and miss them like crazy. I only live 20 minutes away, but I went from seeing them everyday to seeing them once a week. Plus I'm thinking of moving to England.. how will I cope?

After leaving my parents house tonight I cried. I'd been feeling down all day but that was the tipping point. The family was together and it felt like old times. Although, I realised things weren't ever going to be the same. My youngest brother is going to Uni, my middle brother is thinking of moving to Scotland with his girlfriend, and my eldest brother lives in another state. Things are never going to be how they were when we were little. But I guess that's just what growing up is.

I think a lot of us are guilty of not living in the moment. When I was young and Christmas came around, all I cared about were the presents. Not all the family that came over for Christmas lunch. It's funny how things change as we get older. I now prefer my families company over any present.

Time with the ones you love is truly the greatest gift.

Another slightly confusing post but I'm sure you're all used to them by now.

Until next time,

Meliss

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87