It's a Start

in #life6 years ago (edited)

thumbnail_IMG_6800.jpg

Tonight I'm having my first Elevation Float experience. I'm not sure what it's going to be like but I'm pretty excited. Plus I'm not paying for it, my roommate is. He went last week and brought 5 sessions but doesn't want to go alone, so I'm going with him. If it's free it's for me. If you're wondering what an Elevation Float is, it's a flotation tank filled with Epsom salt water where basically you just float for an hour. It's apparently very relaxing and a type of therapy. I'll let you all know how it goes.

As for now I'm having a good start to my week. Actually never mind, it wasn't too great. I arrived at work yesterday to learn that my favourite resident had passed away on Sunday. If you didn't already know I work in a residential home and unfortunately this kind of thing happens all the time. I just wasn't expecting him to go so soon. He seemed fine on Friday when I spoke to him, it all just came as a shock. He used to call Reception everyday and ask me to do little favours for him or he'd come and see me. He was confined to a wheelchair and refused to let anyone push him because he wanted to be independent. It really upset me to find out that he'd passed and seeing his family was hard as well. They were all like him and really lovely people. I really hope there's a good place after death because he definitely deserves to be in that good place.

On another note I'm about to start writing an entry to a writing competition. I haven't entered a competition in over a year because I always believe I'm not good enough. But we've all got to start somewhere and it's time for me to actually start!

It's my birthday this weekend and I don't know about you but I don't get excited for birthdays anymore. I want to be excited but I'm just not. I'm happy that birthdays bring the whole family together and I can't wait to see them all, but when I was younger I used to be ecstatic when my birthday was coming around. Maybe it was because I had more friends and actually had a birthday party, I'm not sure. Oh well, I'm trying to stay positive this week so lets stop talking about that for now.

Today has been a gorgeous day. We've been having a very cold winter here in Australia and finally the sun made an appearance. It was very windy but boy did I enjoy the sun. I sat outside, had breakfast and then took the dogs down to the river. I love sunny days because they just make me feel positive and happy. Although saying that, as I'm sitting here writing this, it's started to pour with rain. Melbourne is famous for its four seasons in one day and that's exactly what it's delivering today.

thumbnail_IMG_6787.jpg

I hope you've all had a good start to your week and stay positive!

Until next time,

Meliss

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63041.44
ETH 2985.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61