Why Are Mondays Always Terrible?!

in #life6 years ago

tenor.gif

You would not believe how my week has started! First off, I’m driving to work and someone cuts me off which is fine, but I get serious road rage so I overtook them and cut them off.. because I’m petty like that. But that’s not the worst part about my drive to work.

I was sitting in the left lane waiting to turn right. There are two lanes that turn right and the left lane was pretty much full so everyone was trying to get into the right lane. There’s not a lot of space to do this because there are safety barriers and towards the back of the queue obviously the space gets smaller. I’ve got a decent sized car and I was waiting at the back of the left lane. Some small cars were squeezing by me and managing to make it through. BUT THEN we have a hero. A bigger SUV decides he’s not going to take it slow through the tiny gap, and he floors it and hits my bloody MIRROR. He carries on and I try to get into the right lane to get behind him but no one lets me in. I fix my mirror and stay where I am. I was so relieved that it wasn’t broken. He goes through the lights AND DOESN’T PULL OVER TO GIVE ME HIS INSURANCE DETAILS. I couldn’t see his number plate and he fucking did a hit and run. By the time I got to work and was able to examine my mirror, I found there wasn’t any major damage, which is VERY lucky because if there were any damage I would’ve had to pay for it.

And it got me thinking about how selfish the human race really is. I’m sure if it were reversed he would not appreciate me hitting his car and then driving away. I’m so relieved there was no damage except some chips in my paint. But at the end of the day, he hit my car and no other driver would let me in front of them to get to him. Why is everyone so self-centered?? Please, someone, tell me because I’d love to know. I grew up being told to own my mistakes and if I hit someone and didn’t pull over I would feel AWFUL. It just really started my week off wrong.

Once I got to work I tried focusing on anything else because I was so frustrated. What frustrated me, even more, was the cold shoulder my work colleges seemed to give me. I answered a phone call and didn’t know the manager was in (She usually gets in around 10 am and I start at 9 am) so I said that she wasn’t in yet. Now, everyone in the offices around Reception can hear everything I say. So one of the admin ladies came out whilst I was on the phone and tried talking to me. I ignored her as it’s so rude and continued with my call. Once I’d hung up she then proceeded to tell me that I shouldn’t be telling people that the manager isn’t in yet and to say she’s ‘unavailable.’ Now, this lady is older than me and I think she’s around my mum's age so she loves to be in control of me, even though we’re on the same level. I think it’s the age and me being the same age as her son probably doesn’t help. I know we have to respect our elders but it would be a lot easier if they respected us back.

My manager then went out of the office for a while. Whilst she was gone some cleaners came to Reception. Generally, we give them lanyards and they’ll be on their way. While I was dealing with them the admin lady comes out and tells me I don’t need to give them lanyards as they’re from head office. I say ‘okay, that’s fine’ and put the lanyards back. About an hour later my manager returns with the two cleaner boys, and guess what she says.

‘Melissa, why haven’t they got lanyards, they need them please.’ So I threw the other lady under the bus. I just said that I was told they didn’t need them. All my manager said was ‘okay.’ I should probably mention that all the ladies at my work are double, nearly triple my age and they’ve all known each other for a long time. So they can never do anything wrong, it’s always me. I mean the other day I got told off because apparently, I put the photocopying paper in wrong. How the hell can I put it in wrong? I’ve been told off once before so every time I double check it’s all okay. I saw one of the ladies messing around with it after me so who’s to say that she didn’t screw it up? It’s just annoying.

Anyway, after having my car hit & being blamed for every little thing at work, it’s safe to say I’m already over this week. I try and start every week as positive as I can but this week had it in for me as soon as I woke up today. I’m hoping your Mondays went a little bit better than mine. Now it’s nearly time to go home, put my PJs on and watch some Orange is the New Black.

Until next time,

Meliss

Image Cred: https://tenor.com/search/monday-sucks-gifs

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63096.57
ETH 2954.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55