I was brainwashed with social media and how Steemit is changing that.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Today I came to a realization...

You know, before Steemit I was just like everyone else. I woke up in the morning and rolled over to my phone to check it. Not to check if any breaking news was happening, but to check my Instagram. Was I checking on an event that I knew my friends were going to? Did someone just get married and I needed to see the photos? No. I just had to check it because I felt that I had nothing better to check.

I mindlessly scrolled that never ending treadmill of photos all day for no reason. All the 30 second videos were funny or stupid but okay I guess, right? Wrong! Why do we do this to our selfs? I think of all the time wasted in my life viewing things I really don't care about. I guess that only 15% of what I see on my Instagram I truly gave a damn about. Even still, I found myself reflecting today on Instagram vs. Steemit today. I have made little to no significant contribution to Instagram and Instagram has made even less then that on to me and my life.

I believe Steemit and other platforms like it to come, will change us as a people and the way we think. As I scroll on my Steemit feed I pass articles and videos of things that I have no idea about. Things like this can teach me in a way that I may better myself. What has Instagram informed me on ? besides Black Chyna twerked in a pool today.

I am tired of viewing other peoples lives through my phone and wanting to be them. Im making moves to better myself to get to that point, even if it takes me a little longer then others. I don't need Flat tummy tea videos or world star updates, I need some mental stimulation! Give me some food for thought because, lord knows, I'm starving for it! If you have friends that are not on this platform, do them a favor and urge them to sign up to save their brain cells. Im slowing convincing each of my friends to do the same, to better themselves and to be a part of something bigger then a following.

What are your thoughts? Am I being too dramatic?

Sort:  

Spread the word child spread the wordA6E9F48E-C3B9-442D-B322-549437F06A42.jpeg

Thats halirious

This is powerful. It’s an interesting concept to unlock and the fact that you see it speaks volumes.

The world is slowly being programmed into a certain pattern of execution. Things like the blockchain and cryptocurrencies have disrupted this. It was much needed.

Awesome write up!

I got some great teachers, wink wink.

Powerful stuff. I think 2018 is the year that we recognize the implications of screens and social media and the companies that control them.

Blockchain and especially Steem seem to be bucking the trends and placing power in the hands of individual people instead of a select few at a corporation.

I agree that learning new things — like you say, making yourself better — is the truest goal, and Steem seems like an awesome place to make that happen.

btw, I linked to your post in my first post here because I was so excited to see someone else thinking about this on Steemit :)

Thank you, I'm glad that there's so many people on this same wavelength. Also thanks for the mention too!

Right? Most other social platforms maybe but for Facebook are just 5 seconds of images and crap videos of a dog being silly or a fail of some kind. Facebook is full of FUD and drama. I like it here much more. I want to comment and not just upvote.

great post. I resteemed it

I agree with you completely. Thank so much for resteeming!

I fully agree with you, @mellisaramirez.

Scrolling through my Facebook wall drains most of my energy. And everyday is the same. People wanting to become "face-stars" and other people just sharing phrases that they aren't really taking as themselves. Fake people -even those that you love the most in real live-.

Here I can scroll the preview excerpts, and read some of them. Many times I don't feel better after reading them, but I don't feel energy-drained neither.

That is a good point I forgot to mention, the drained feeling you get. Taking the words right out my mouth.

Exceptional vigilance.... cool thought. Steemit is just the best, what i was waiting for in Wordpress, Steemit overdo it. hehehe. Great post. Kindly check my blogs too, you would love to know more about me.

I thank you, I'll check it out.

You are welcome, OK! I will be expecting.

Not too dramatic, just more discerning! Steemit does give food for thought. I love all the new things I learn and people I find from afar. And, I don’t miss the twerking ;) Great post. Blessings

The community is huge and positive too. Thank you for the support.

“I am tired of viewing other peoples lives through my phone and wanting to be them“

Powerful statements you have in this article, I can agree with everything you said!

You are spot on man, I have been getting frustrated and deleting facebook, twitter, reddit, Instagram, snapchat to take a break then reinstalling eventually because all they have is "fake news" or "fud". People want to set their studio facing in on themselves but if you don't face your audience then never do they feel as if they are being played too. Here on steemit most people are focused outwards, posting content to be received and expanded upon rather then content focusing on ones own praise.

I completely agree, ones own on praise is the main focus on most social sites. How would we ever move forward if we're stuck on ourselfs.

Well we would have to develop cloning with sexual preferences, then we could all love ourselves as much as we like. 😂 🍻

Hahaha I see what you did there, too clever.

It is amazing you got such achievement as a new man who participate the steemit. whatever, it is wonderful to be here.

*Woman, and Thank you. I hope you do well here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66149.24
ETH 3015.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73