Ahab was right

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Not that I spotted a whale or nothing of the sort, but in his observation that some people belong to the sea and to the sea alone.

Aside from the fact that this environment uses a language quite alien to the common man, I'm pretty impressed with the level of natural intuition, of inexplicable sensing that is required to befriend the old man of the sea.

As you might imagine I keep on getting lost, wondering why a "tack" and a "jib" are not the same thing as I miss to follow three more instructions from the vessel's captain. It's ok, he knows I'm an untrained land mammal and he is working on forgiving me, meanwhile I'm adopting the healthy stance of "if I can't help, let me get out of the way".

To those of us who know little to nothing about operating these water spaceships with clever names and overly cooked humans, I will share this with you. It's not easy, not by a long shot and hesitating to release a line or tighent one, can cost you precious, precious time.

As it stands right now I have no idea if we won, came last or are not even racing in the same race as the people talking on the oldschool radios. I don't want to be perceived as too ignorant so I will keep my questions to the minimum for now.

Oh, before I forget, it's not called toilet, don't be caught acting like a land mammal, it's called head... I think, but since I just made myself doubt the word I learned just a few hours ago, I will just play it cool as if I know the lyrics to the song.

We are anchored outside Key Largo at the moment. We are to spend the night being serenated by the sloshing of waves. It's going to be a first for me, but I suspect it won't be too hard to fall asleep or more accurately said, pass out. The sun does do a number on you and if I was not attempting to make this post I would probably allow myself to catch a Z or two with little effort.

I will probably shut off this phone soon as well, since we won't go to dry land, I won't have the ability to charge it tomorrow and I want to see if I can snap some more pictures on the way back.

Signing off...
Captain Ahab

Sort:  

Dude.. i jusy started sailing lessons a couple weeks ago and a Gibe knocked me out of the boat today.

Oyeah.. I was also beat by a couple 11 year olds last week while sailing. This water stuff is seriously not for everybody a natural thing

oh wow... yes I was told to stay clear of the boom for that same reason... its too easy to mess up and learn the hard way... im glad your ok tho

learning the hard way makes you learn very fast though :D

when the boom gives a big boom to the head, you wont forget it a second time hahaha

You're living the dream, at least for a couple days. Looks like you're working hard, going by that pic too. Unless your legs simply fell off and you're grabbing a pic of them being lazy while you're slaving away tacking and jibbing and heading.

you like my legs? I bought them new in the black market from a narnian.. they are supposed to jump 10 feet into the air if needed... and since i was going to the ocean, it just made sense...

I love the water and it looks like fun, and a little cheese and red wine at night. I like your funny expressions, humor is essential when on water and come to think of it, land too. Enjoy your sailing, those legs might get a tan becarefull.

it was all kinds of un brother, thanks for following along in all my incoherent ramblings... cheers mate

So even when in the middle of the sea you (unwittingly) search for the local monster myth, and ended up with Moby Dick..? :-)

What I remember from the single sea-trip I ever had was the returning to land... After struggling to get used to the constant motion on deck, the ground under your feet feels eerily unstable when you step back onto the mainland. The crew didn't seem to have this problem at all, so yeah I also believe Ahab had a point there.

Anyhow, thanks once again and make sure you have a great time, Ahab!

ps
I don't know if I break any rules by doing this, so please forgive me if I do (still fairly new here and still getting used to "Steemit etiquette"), but I wrote something on which I would very much appreciate your opinion, if you can sometime find the time after your adventures on sea, and as long as it doesn't keep you from bringing the good stuff ;-)

Enjoy. We are also "away" enjoying some Nature Healing but in the filtered green light of the forests. Have fun, heal, align, breathe it.

Yeah bro. Switch it off and unwind... Bresthe in the fresh sea air... Calm the mind... Give any lingering stress to mamma ocean (to drink up), from where we all originate....

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

enjoy the journey!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61383.17
ETH 2915.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61