We all know "that guy"

in #life6 years ago

Some know I'm about to hit the fourth floor, so you could say I'm both young and experienced, but it really depends on who you ask. That being said, I've had enough life experience to have befriended "that guy" more than once, and even though I can smell them a mile away, it keeps on happening.



Who?


The guy!!! You know who!

Ok, I'll explain the profile, this is how it works:

You offer your help, you do something for them, they initially are very grateful and gracious, and next thing you know, they are asking for your first born child as a favor. Yes, I'm exaggerating but I wanted to make sure you know what guy I'm talking about.

So this morning I get a message from "the guy" he asks me if I could deliver some of his things to a hotel(he ships to my home, since he doesn't live in 'merica). Of course I said no problem, because I really don't mind doing it. It's a Sunday, very little traffic, the hotel is very close and I could use the room in my hallway(its a drum set).

But then to my surprise, this guy, just "that guyed" another person. Turns out the friend who is taking the stuff back to south america is unaware of the volume of things he's supposed to take. You see what I mean? He got "one guyed" big time, and he didn't see it coming.

I'm laughing a little bit, but maybe I shouldn't. As it turns out, I've been "one guyed" too many times myself and It's never been a pleasant situation. But, I would have expected the innocent hotel tourist to know better, after all, the guy is infamous for being that one guy in his home town.

It's 10:30 am at the moment, and I'm going to load up these boxes into a car I'm going to borrow for this, deliver the packages, collect a little bit of green (nothing to rave about) and I fully expect for this to become dramatic.

It's going to be along the lines of: "WHAT ARE THESE BOXES GUY??? I CANT TAKE ALL THIS!!!" and I'm going to be standing there saying to myself, silently of course, "I freaking knew it!"

Do you know a guy? I'm sure you do.... tell me about the guy you know...

Sort:  

Of course we all know a "that guy". My husband's best friend is just such a guy. One small favor that is easy to grant, and would be rude not to, always leads to another and another and another. I worked for a CPA for several years and was proficient at income tax preparation. My husband's friend asked if I would help him out in the year he started as an Uber driver. I reluctantly agreed and gave him a list of what he needed to have itemized. Of course, he arrives with a cardboard box full of receipts, scraps of paper, and none of the paperwork I told him he needed from Uber. The one hour job turned into an all day job. He ended up spending the night because he lived about 300 mi away. He insisted on taking us out for dinner (I had no intention of charging him for the tax return) but at the end of the meal his one and only credit card was declined. Sigh....

oh wow... that is crazy!!! you think he did it intentionally?

Well he is always pulling that kind of thing, I'm not sure he even realizes or does it intentionally. He just has this mindset that everything is about him, lol. Thanks for the reward!

Give what you can, take what you need.

Some people are leeches :(

very true my friend, sadly quite accurate.

I knew a guy like that. He would give you a small piece of shrimp and expect a case of beer in return for it. I'd like to say the guy was a douchebag but honestly he was pretty cool he just had his bad moments.

the guy from my story is pretty cool... but im always going like.. wtcrap dude.

You offer your help, you do something for them, they initially are very grateful and gracious, and next thing you know, they are asking for your first born child as a favor.

Yes we all know that kind of "guys" or "dudettes" LOL... and yes I may feel the most stupid person in the world because I fall every time, I must learn to say no, Pris, just say "no" :) one syllable... so much power

Hahahaha dear pris, yes you would be easy to fall victim to these types of dudes and dudettes...

Posted using Partiko Android

i don't have guys like this as i tend to cut those behaviors from the start. So even if a friend is that guy there is no chance to start asking me for favors :P

Now that i am thinking i don't really think i have friends like that nowadays :P

you've done good then filo, pretty good...

i am lucky :P

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @meno!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.043 which ranks you at #283 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 284).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 256 contributions, your post is ranked at #11.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60793.36
ETH 2909.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64