SETTING REALISTIC GOALS FOR 2020

in #life4 years ago

Normally I always start the year off with unrealistic goals, such as "losing 30 pounds by may" or NO goals at all. I wouldn't say these are bad goals per say, but they aren't realistic to my life, they do not shape my life whatsoever. 2019 was not horrible for me AT ALL, I had a baby girl and i also got engaged! but those things are beautiful in themselves. The goals that I am going to mention in todays blog range from super hard, hard and easy. Giving yourself a little bit of variety here and there I think is good for your health and your mind. so, LETS GET TO IT

81556648_2526939144256039_3162183497179725824_n.jpg

HARDER Goals for the year 2020:
1) Read 30 books in the entire year, which is about 3 books a month!

NOW, with this goal being said, I currently have a 10 month old and will be planning a wedding all year, but I am still determined to complete this goal! My love for reading is very large, although I doubt many people who know me actually know this. I am a thrifter and the local thrift stores in my area sell used books 5 for 4$! I love books, I love the feeling of books, I love the smell of books and I love the esthetic of books. Every time I go to the thrift store I pick up more books and place them on my bookshelf, SIDE NOTE, I only buy books in pristine condition, and I take care of them better then I take care of myself (but I'm working on that hehe) In my collection I probably have about 50 unread books and one of the reasons why I do not read is because I am overwhelmed with what book I should read because they all sound amazing and I want to read them all at once! To get over this hump of mine, I will be writing all the books down on little scrapes of paper and throwing them into a jar and when I'm ready for my next book I will pick one from the jar and stick to it! wish me luck!

2) Drink 5 water bottles a day

This one might seem silly to some, but I absolutely, positively HATE water!!!!! The only time I drink water is when I am PARCHED, DYING of thirst (even then I sometimes grab milk instead). I am the world's most pickiest water drinker too! It has to be super cold, in a plastic cup with ice and a silicone straw, mental straws hurt my teeth. Recently I discovered putting water in a very large stainless steel jug and putting in the fridge before bed, and pouring it into my PLASTIC cup the next day because drinking anything out of stainless steel is disgusting. 30 days to make a habit, so this is one of my harder ones for sure. SIDE NOTE, when I say "5 water bottles a day" I mean five 24OZ bottles a day.

3) Write in my Gratitude Journal daily

I purchased a Gratitude Journal this Christmas for myself. You are supposed to write in it every single day, but this could be a little difficult for me! I am going to put it right beside my coffee maker, and when I go to grab my morning coffee, I will also grab my gratitude journal and write in it while I am having my morning coffee … BEFORE any screen time in my life.

look how cute this little journal really is! HomeSence / Winners for $9.99!

80390245_560123628165073_2669925389735821312_n.jpg

80852344_771163316714643_4460092089698353152_n.jpg

4) Posting on HERE, STEEMIT, once a week!

This community has brought so much light into my life, especially when I actually post. I may not have very many followers, but I try to work on that daily. My page is mostly family, lifestyle and things I enjoy & sometimes I post things that might not make sence to anyone, but only me. I discourage myself thinking noone will care what im writing about, but I think I'm coming to the conclusion that I DO NOT CARE about that! ultimately, I started this blog for myself, to document my life and for me to go back and forever and always be reminded of amazing moments in my life and things that I love. With the encouragement that @ate-bit-dave (my FIANCE) gave me at the beginning and continues to give me every other day and the love I sometimes get from the #steemitmamas community from the very beginning is inspiring and brings tons of optimism into my life.

5) Writing in my one-line-a-day journal

I got this lovely journal at the beginning of 2019, but I FAILED to use it. I love the idea of writing in a journal every day, but it also is a lot of work. I found this journal on amazon as well, where you just write a couple lines about your day instead of a novel or a whole page. This way I can just highlight the good things if I had a good day, or the bad things if I had a bad day!

80879764_2518603521795919_5031041853500162048_n.jpg

80558817_858611481221925_3893797447675150336_n.jpg

found this GEM on Amazon for $12.00 Link Below
https://www.amazon.ca/One-Line-Day-Journal-Memories/dp/1542355524/ref=sr_1_2?keywords=line+a+day&qid=1577468307&sr=8-2

EASIER Goals for the year 2020:
6) Make a Pinterest recipe once a month

As I am sure, some of the other girls (or guys) on here can relate. I have HUNDREDS of saved pinterest recipes that I never make. Therefore, I will be making one recipe at least once a month from there! I love to cook, I just like to be very organized when I do so, and sometimes that can interfere with the fun in cooking... CHALLENGE ACCEPTED!

7) Purge certain items in my life on the 30th of every month

what this means is such things as nick nacks that do not bring me joy, clothing I NEVER wear but for some reason are always hanging in my closet collecting dust, and things that ultimately I do not need or have multiples of. We will be having a garage sale in the summer so collecting things that someone else could potentially use more then I would brings me joy in itself.

8) Getting rid of something that is deemed "bad" for me each month, and carrying it on into the next month

… Let me explain. Each month I will be getting rid of something in my diet that is not good for me, work on it for the 30 days and then carry it onto the following month AS WELL as adding in a new item that new month, so by the end of the year I will be rid of 12 different things I consume that are not good for me in the 1st place. This idea was sparked by my best friend who did this once. I need some sort of system like this to keep myself on track! I will be starting with things I like, but I can 110% get rid of quite easily and then nearing the end of the year will be the harder things that I enjoy a lot.

January: Juice
February: Chocolate
March: Candy
April: LIMIT coffee to 1 cup a day
May: Ice cream
June: Cookies
July: Pasta/Grains (bad ones)
August: Fast Food (not including French Fries)
September: French Fries
October: Diet Pop
November: Chips
December: Alcohol (until my wedding!)

This concludes my "New Year's Resolutions" for 2020. Some might find that I have too many goals, I'll never be able to complete these everyday with a GROWING 10 month old and planning my wedding for the year. I am on my cell phone much to much, I would really like to get out of the obsession and addictiveness that comes with being on all social media platforms and having the need to be on my phone all the time. So giving myself something to do right when I got to sleep (line-a-day journal), and when I am having my morning coffee (gratitude journal) gives me something to do other then sit on my phone. I could be reading 4 chapters every night when I put baby Heidi down for sleep, but instead you can find me playing games on my phone or mindlessly scrolling through #reddit and giving myself a headache.

I would love to hear if you have any 2020 goals, or inspirations you would like to share! lets get the ball rolling! with that being said, I wish you all a Happy New Year and hope it brings lots of love, selflessness, prosperity, and good health to you all!

XOXO,
MM

Sort:  

Congratulations @merlotmama! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 200 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I would get rid of Ice Cream in Sept so you can eat it in summer, and get rid of pasta in may... who wants pasta during BBQ season? Lol

curation.png
If you like what we do, consider delegation or following our curation trail on Steemauto. All are welcome to join us on Discord. We encourage use of the #naturalmedicine tag on relevant content & posting via www.naturalmedicine.io to get rewarded with LOTUS coin.
weelotus.png
Join in our challenge this week to win 100 Steem & Lotus Tokens! Read More Here.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60896.14
ETH 2915.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55