Hack Your Life: An Introduction To Flow

in #life6 years ago (edited)

You know the feeling.

Everything is going right, you are on top of the world, every click is a headshot.

abdaf.jpg

There are many terms for it. Being in the zone. Beast Mode. When we leave everything behind it is what we find.

Modern psychology has termed it "Flow" and it's pretty cool...

There is a wonderful organization out there called the Flow Genome Project.

They are compiling as much information as they can on Flow and the corresponding physiologicals states while democratizing access to this once mystical state by making it accessible to the average individual.

In the past Flow was a state destined to be experienced by peak athletes, high level performers and those fortunate enough to have been exposed to the upper echelons of performance training.

Fortunately for us, this is no longer the case.

What is Flow?

Put simply, Flow is a mental state that is facilitated through the release of a specific chemical cocktail of various neurotransmitters.

It is characterized by increased focus, decreased pain, feelings of joy, euphoria and increased confidence plus a variety of other positive side effects.

It is the feeling we get when we are focused 110% on our current task, completely absorbed in the present moment and the task at hand.

giphy.gif

Why would I want to experience Flow?

Well, first off, it's fucking fun. Flow states are peak experiences characterized by a huge dump of pleasure chemicals... It feels good.

On top of that, it's good for your health and well being.

Frequent access to Flow states has been shown to correlate with increases in immune system efficacy, increased happiness and well being plus increased longevity!

Andddd, it doesn't stop there! High level executives were found to be up to 5x more effective in flow when compared to their baseline productivity. Pretty great, right?

Well, it kind of is. Flow is a peak performance state where we are able to access near superhuman levels of performance and channel it into whatever activity we like.

If it's so great, how the f*** do I experience it??

It's kind of simple... and it kind of isn't.

I'm not going to dive too deeply into the mechanics behind it, instead you should check out this awesome video created by the guys at the Flow Genome Project.

I'm still pretty new to this platform, yet there is one thing that I have seen quite clearly.

shakespeare-Quotes-25-1.jpg
Everyone is going to post, all the time, no matter what.

The quality of your content is rather irrelevant it seems, if you have Steem Power or $$ to throw at bots, you're going to be posting and you are going to be making money from it.

At first I felt frustrated seeing people make money while putting out crappy content (not going to name any names here) but over time my perspective has changed.

download.jpeg

I am participating in this community for a variety of reasons but one of them is because I want to make money. Why should I judge others who have this same ambition?

I love reading well written, captivating content. I enjoy watching the videos that people put time and effort into. It's really cool connecting with and interacting with other like minded individuals. For me at least, if you just want to put up shill posts and get paid... that's fine. I won't support your content but you should have the freedom to use this platform to support yourself.

download (1).jpeg

What do you all think? Has Steemit become a bot factory or is there still hope for a healthy community?

If You Want To Talk, Join Our Discord Group

We Talk About Cool Stuff ... And Are Friendly!

Check Out Some Of My Other Posts Here

If you are enjoying the content that I am producing, definitely hit that follow button as I will be creating much more! Also, please let me know if you have any suggestions for things you would like to learn about.

IF YOU LIKE TEH STUFF, CLICK FOLLOW.png

Check out the video, try to experience flow for yourself and let me know what you think!

Sort:  

Nice post. Yeah, the bots are kind of ruining the platform, but you got a point. Good content will succeed, only if we suport it. Cheers

Resteemed to over 18200 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!

Send 0.200 Steem or 0.200 Steem Dollars and the URL in the memo to use the bot.
Read here how the bot from Berlin works.

#resteembot #bestofresteembot #winwithresteembot

@resteem.bot

Feel free to join our partner crypto exchange: https://www.binance.com/?ref=10230705.

@resteem.bot

Lol man, I really enjoyed reading this. It was like two articles; one before and one after the video. Had me damned confused for a second. But the second bit was as good as the first and the segue makes sense to me now. It felt like a non-judgmental example of what could be done and a super friendly invitation to join dialogue on the topic. 🙌

I still feel super new to steemit and occasionally I feel like there is an equal amount of garbage posts here as there is on other platforms. But just like you say and just like my own experiences have shown me, quality will win out in the end.

But it is interesting how the spectrum here is measured (the quality spectrum I mean) . Not just arbitrary thumbs and hearts, but tangible wealth is rewarded as well.

Winners focus on winning and losers focus on winners. Just do what you do, the best you can with what you have and the universe will look after you. Find happiness within yourself and nobody can take it, even if you are about to die, unless you give it willingly.

Sheesh, I got to rambling there a bit. 😂

lol thanks for the response ... your insight is on point ... I accidently ctrl + c'd my previous post into this one... I think I'll leave it though

Hahahaha you were flowing too hard

Steven Kotler's book the Rise of Superman should be required reading in schools. I've experienced flow states many times before reading his book, didn't understand it until after reading it.

So real, just finished reading it was, an A+ in my opinion. Say whatsup on my discord channel if you ever want to chat about flow or other altered states.

Pete Carroll, coach of the Seahawks talks about flow a ton. He mentions ot a lot in his book Win Forever. Definitely worth a read.

nice post and just live for you!!

Nice post keep it up!!

i hope this post is learn post! we need to learn! thanks for shared!

Greetings there @metama!

I need to find a way to get into the "flow zone" more often.

I have experienced total focus and it does feel good, but my attention is short and fleeting
.
I need to harness more flow power!

Say whatsup on my discord channel and I can offer you some tips! I've gotten pretty good at cultivating flow :)

That video was really great, thank you for sharing :)

happy to share :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65999.51
ETH 3019.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71