I'm terrified by the coronavirus, and what's going to happen next

in #life4 years ago (edited)

I'm sitting here in a suburb of Chicago wondering what's going to happen next. I'm absolutely terrified about the coronavirus. I have severe cerebral palsy, and I haven't been outside in two weeks. under normal conditions, I am reasonably healthy, but because my muscles are weak, if I got pneumonia, it would be very dangerous for me, so I am very worried about getting this virus. My greatest concern is that one of my caregivers might give it to me. They are the only people I have contact with at this point. If one of them were to get it, I would almost certainly get it, so I'm scared.

I've heard that this virus might be around for eight weeks. They can't shut the hall country down for eight weeks, can they? I guess right now, they're only going to do it for two weeks, and then see what happens, but it seems to me that they can't keep things shut down like this for very long. If people can't go to work, they can't get money, and without money how will people be able to buy anything? If this goes on for too much longer, the whole economy will collapse. It seems like every day there are new restrictions on movement. It just seems like this can't go on like this much longer.

I think it's outrageous that Trump cannot be held criminally responsible for the situation. For an entire month he kept telling us that everything would be fine, even when the experts were saying otherwise. It just seems like this whole thing has caught government officials by surprise when they should have known that this was going to happen. We saw what was going on in China for an entire month, and the government did nothing. The borders should have been closed immediately when the outbreak first occurred in China. By the time the government got around to taking action, and putting restrictions in place, the virus had already spread to the US. As someone said, if the horse has already left the barn, what's the point in closing the gate now? It all seems like too little too late. I can't believe how totally unprepared the US is for this crisis. Experts have been saying for at least five years, that something like this is going to happen, yet we were utterly, and completely unprepared for this. The richest country in the world kind of seems like a big joke to me at the moment. It's more like the most incompetent country in the world!

So many Americans like to think that somehow Americans are better than other people, but I think this whole crisis has shown that that is certainly not the case at least not in a situation like this one. Americans need to wake up, and start paying attention to what's going on around them. For too long we have just sat around, and waited for terrible things to happen, and then when they happen we try to find a solution. I think we've seen that that's an absolutely terrible way to go about things. I hope that we wake up, and realize that sometimes it is necessary to take action before a crisis occurs, and not wait until afterward, and then try to do something about it. The next virus that comes two or three years from now will probably be many times worse than this one. I hope the next time, will take some action before it's too late.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61673.68
ETH 2904.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63