Announcement of the Serious Kind

in #life3 years ago

Hey everyone. My original plan was to weave a story and make this announcement within the intricacies of the tale.

I’ve had a serious rethink and I’ve decided that method would be way too much of a shock and pretty much a complete downer.

Today is a landmark day for me and for my entire family.

image.png
Not just these wonderful people...

image.png
This lot...

image.png
These

image.png
And these too

Please realise these pictures do not show EVERY member of my extended family. I'm sorry for those I've missed, I love you too!

I start Chemotherapy and Radiotherapy treatment today. My appointment is at 13:09 and I have a few people in my corner, shouting for me to beat this. I’d like more, please.

I’ve been dealing with all of this with my own brand of irreverent, and at times utterly rude, crude and close to obscene humour and I’m not going to stop now. I have noticed there are a LOT of opportunities for a laugh in my diagnosis, treatment and examinations, so if you’re offended by swearing, I suggest you stop reading (if not right now, then at least stop after a few more lines).

I have been diagnosed with (no, I refuse to make it more important by capitalising it) I have malignant neoplasm of the rectum. I know, it’s a real pain in the arse… No shit… (well, actually… that’s not quite true. The shit part of all this is exactly why I was able to catch it early… go figure!)

The first and most important thing to know is that we think we caught it early. My consultant, Dr Silverman says it is curable and I thoroughly believe him. BUT I have a long, hard few months ahead of me, and therefore, so too do my family and friends – and I include you in all of this too, so buckle up, it’s going to get rough.

This journey will be told in greater detail in the Stories from the Pandemic series (Coming soon) but for now, you may need to digest this news… sorry it’s straight and to the point, but that’s the best way, I think, rip that Band-Aid right off, hairs, scabs and skin attached.

It is 08:10 and I have just consumed my first lot of the chemotherapy. There are three tablets to take, twice a day, and I have to take them at exactly the same time – 12 hours apart (in case you couldn’t work that out).

It may be psychosomatic, but I believe there is a slight change inside my mouth, a kind of metallic underlying taste (not quite a taste, more of a sensation).

And so it begins. Thank you for being here with me, it means a lot.

Sort:  

How are you dear friend @ michelle.gent
I could say many things about this situation, I have accompanied my father about a similar illness. The secret in this, in addition to the medicines and the treatment of your doctor, is to always remain positive and mentally strong.

Hey @jlufer, thank you for the kind words, I appreciate it. I have a lot of support around me and I'm staying positive. Thank you <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59241.52
ETH 2989.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71