MY BOSS IS AN ASSHOLE (Dealing with job harassment)

in #life5 years ago
Ten in the morning at a café in a small town of Dublin and there she was, yelling that 'if I did not shut up, she was going to fire me', while doing my job and also trying to have a conversation with one of my colleagues. Another common behaviour of hers was to mistreat all employees calling us names and yelling all the time. Taking our tips to cover cash on the register when it was short or simply not paying bank holidays (Which is in the law). It was just a couple of the countless situations that I lived with my last boss in that green country while working as a barista.

DSC_2493 (2).JPG
Photography by @miguelarocha (Stockholm, Sweden)
Nikon D3300

We find ourselves in unsustainable work situations Every day. But if we are outside of our countries, these situations become more complicated, because we cannot quit while our life depends on it.
It is difficult to maintain good relationships in our workplace if our manager has bad temper. Humour that in many cases has nothing to do with the work we do, but rather with the personality of each person we work with.
If this situation occurs with a supervisor, it becomes manageable. A walk to our real boss’s office is more than enough to stop these abuses. But what happens when these abuses come from the real bosses or owners of the establishments where we work at?
I have been involved in this problems a couple of times where mistreatment, rising voice and dislike situations dominate the place.

It is pretty clear that being without this supervision during any day, the working environment is much lighter and more stable. The energy in the business becomes very dense and heavy when this person crosses the doors of the working place.
I am very sure that many of us have experienced very similar situations at the moment of working.

DSC_2260 (2).JPG
Photography by @miguelarocha (Stockholm, Sweden)
Nikon D3300

A few years ago, I started working in the café bar of a major multinational company, having this sweet lady as my manager, whose main characteristic was understanding. This characteristic only lasted a little over a month, since the following months I was treated as the worst worker in the place when I had always done my job in the same way, being very professional and constant in every moment and place. I have also had experiences with some chefs who apparently to get good grades at cooking school they had ''yell to your employee '' as principal subject, people that believe they have the right to treat their partners badly when they make a mistake, like if any human life depends on it. One of the notorious phrases that I could hear was 'DO NOT TOUCH MY FOOD'.
Before ending with these anecdotes, I cannot stop mentioning my last boss, named above. This person made every moment of my life miserable during the eight months I worked in that café restaurant of her property. Person who on more than one occasion I thought she could hit me. And not satisfied with the mistreatment, she decided what to do with our weekly tips. Taking the boldness of denying them or distributing them among the staff after checking that the money in the cash register was complete, who also did not pay the holidays contemplated in the law and prioritized hers before her employees’.

This type of problem caused me a lot of stress at the time. I came home, where the only topic of conversation with my partner was about the inconvenience received at my workplace. These complains became cries, venting this complains to the wrong person, causing problems in my relationship and bringing trouble to my daily life out of work.
In the end I concluded that in a moment of need being outside our countries, it is important to stay strong if changing jobs is not a possibility for any reason. We are all in different circumstances and each of us has the right to make decisions. But I also realized that our physical and mental health should always be first. In the end, all the expenses that we make will be done with our lifetime.

DSC_2423 (2).JPG
Photography by @miguelarocha (Stockholm, Sweden)
Nikon D3300

Remember that every complain that is made is important since a bad person in charge of a work group has much more to lose than we as employees. There will always be a failure in their work system that will be cause for making the corresponding complaints. In many countries around the world, workplace harassment is a crime punishable by law.
No one has the right to step over you when you feel you are doing your job properly.
Remember also that this place where you go for eight, nine, ten and maybe many more hours, is your first home, because in reality, we only get to sleep in our homes in many cases, and if so, our home should be that where we feel comfortable and satisfied at. Better a good change in time than falling into depression within that toxic environment after a while.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86