STUDYING A NEW LANGUAGE ABROAD (Is communication an issue at first?)

in #life5 years ago
When we realize that something is missing, we do the impossible to achieve what we desire. In the same way it happens with the proposed goals. Sooner or later, we reach achievements that perhaps at some point, we set out to achieve, having as a result a life lesson and a prize more valuable than gold.

DSC_0895 (2).JPG
Photography by: @miguelarocha (Dublin, Ireland)
Nikon D3300

During our teenage years, we go through millions of crazy ideas. Many of them, on plans that in the short or long term, we want to achieve.
For me it was indispensable to dream. It was dreaming that made me take off the country I was born in. When I started such a beautiful journey, I realized that more than a common citizen, I already felt like a citizen of the world.

Happily, I undertook a trip for studies to the other side of the Atlantic Ocean, being the first time that I was leaving my country. During the whole flight operated by a major French airline, I could not sleep. When landing in the country of scale I felt incredible. Everything seemed so weird and pretty. Like I did not want to touch anything. The smells and colours were different from what I was used to.
As soon as I go to talk to someone, for my fortune, the first person who communicated with me, did it in my language. Although I was miles away, I was still in my comfort zone somehow.

When I arrived, it was the same. The people who picked me up at the airport were Polish, but they handled Spanish. Greeting, introducing myself, saying goodbye and thanking, were the only words I handled in English.
I remember all that journey of at least half an hour from Dublin airport to a beautiful colonial style house built in 1875. With a smile, a warm hug and an excited dog, an Irish couple made us feel very welcome on the east of this capital city.
My partner, with whom I undertook that trip, handled the language better than I did, who in many cases helped me in several conversations.

DSC_0049 (2).JPG
Photography by: @miguelarocha (Dublin, Ireland)
Sony Xperia Z1

When we were invited to the interior of that beautiful house where we planned to stay during the first month of that year of studies, we sat down each one with a cup of tea and suddenly started to look at each other's faces without transmitting the slightest sound for a few seconds, until some of us had to break the ice.

The language barrier during this time, represented many discomforts that dissipated over time.

During the first month of studies I could already address our hosts with some phrases that could be counted as an attempt of conversation. Fortunately, there was no problem at the time of communication at home.

DSC_0077 (2).JPG
Photography by: @miguelarocha (Dublin, Ireland)
Sony Xperia Z1

After about 6 months of studies and experiences, with all those tools given to me by the English school, I realized that one of the most important ways to handle a language that we know very little about is with work. By this I mean, to start working and, therefore, start communicating with people from town.
With the passing of the months, I got better skills. I realized that, there is nothing like studying a language from its original country.

Thanks to a lot of effort, dedication, work, communication and studies, after two and a half years I learned to manage English fluently. However, I think I would continue studying it for at least six more months, to improve the language as I would really like to speak it. Realizing this way, not always it’s enough.

DSC_0628 (2).JPG
Photography by: @miguelarocha (Dublin, Ireland)
Sony Xperia Z1

If you travel to another country to study a new language, try to mix with locals, get a part-time job, socialize and live with nationals to put into practice the studies you will be doing at the time. Remember that when you are in a country where you do not understand what they are saying, it is important to start communicating as quickly as possible. In this way, you will be forcing yourself to speak the language with people who will surely help you a lot with your pronunciation.
Now after four years, I am trying to learn another language. One that I never learned anything about. I am sure that effort is going to be necessary in this case.

FOR MORE 'STUDYING AND LIVING ABROAD' STORIES, FOLLOW ME. I HAVE GOT PLENTY TO TELL YOU ABOUT.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63648.37
ETH 3125.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87