Life On The Road With A Wolf Dog

in #life8 years ago (edited)

The man's nose burst open wide, spewing a stream of blood

 ..when all 80 pounds of my dog impacted his face dead center, her large paws  shattering the plexi-glass window of my pickup truck cap, striking him the way she would pounce on a mouse. The man had made the mistake of putting his face to the window while at the same time slowly sliding it open. He couldn't possibly have seen her sleek black figure laying inside watching him in the bright Mojave sunshine. The wolf dog did not abide anyone near her truck at anytime and  her vicious demeanor defending it was in stark contrast to her otherwise sweet nature. She defended that truck like it was a den full of pups and this thief had made a big mistake in his choice of cars to rob that day.

I had watched the whole scene unfold from the porch of the diner

...I had just eaten breakfast at, a greasy spoon off of I40 near Needles California. The truck was 40 yards away or so and I watched curiously as the man had approached and put his face to the window. As he stuck his hand in, I had the thought to yell, but I was too late. The truck lurched as the wolf dog  sprang from the far side, fully air born as she impacted in a spectacular fashion, the plexi-glass exploding on his face. The man went down hard, falling into the neighboring car and crumpling for a moment against the tire as he clutched at his face trying to stop the bleeding. His nose was as wrecked as I've ever seen from one hit in a street fight and he was stunned. At this point I started to yell as I was worried the wolf dog was going to pounce on the thief.

Run Motherfucker! Run!

...I screamed as the wolf dog barked at him in a frenzy half out of the window. The thief got up, his shirt covered in blood, his hands trying to hold his nose to his face. He stumbled, disoriented and ran into another car as he made his way out of the parking lot, managing a limping half run to the frontage road and off into the distance.When I got back to the truck the wolf dog examined my facial expression for a clue as to my demeanor because she knew that breaking the window was not good. I laughed, the spell was broken,  and she wagged her tail victoriously as I commended her on a job well done! Just another day with the wolf dog, none of them boring!


Mike
 

Sort:  

Thanks, she was the coolest!

That looks a lot like my childhood dog that was part chow. She was also SUPER protective of us. We had her until she died of cancer....her name is tattooed on me now. Amazing dog.

Job well done, wolf dog. :)

Thanks @lauralemons , she was awesome, father was full blooded border collie, working dog, mother was 150lb timber wolf German Shepherd mix. She was too smart! I'll be writing some more about her adventures. Thanks again for reading and upvoting!

I will follow you to read more about this wonderful dog. Has she passed? I noticed you used past tense. <3

she's been gone for years, never be another like her.

Oh. I know the feeling then. (Hugs)

Congratulations @mikeinfla! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @mikeinfla! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

tnx.plz follow

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62441.36
ETH 2940.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59