The Bum Gun in Thailand saves trees

in #life5 years ago

The coolest device I've seen in a long time is the Bum Gun. It is a flexible bidet spray attached to every toilet in Thailand. It seems a bit foreign to an outsider at first but after using it a few times I'm hooked.

bidet spray.jpg

You don't need toilet paper with these and you are much cleaner faster. Here's how they are used.

The western world has some catching up to do but then again the sales of toilet paper is big business. Check out how many billions of dollars the yearly sales of the top 10 leading brands in the U.S. generates.

Yearly sales of TP in US.jpg

Not to mention the number of trees required to fulfill the need.

"The average American uses 50 pounds of toilet paper every single year. That breaks down to 57 squares per day, according to Mental Floss. Or, for another metric, that's around 410 rolls a year. At that rate, a two person household will go through a whole tree worth of toilet paper in 365 days." All that paper also has to be treated in our sewage treatment systems.

Are we stupid or do we just allow ourselves to be manipulated by vested interests in toilet paper production? It's time for America to get on with the 'Bum Gun Revolution' and clean up their act.

Join the Revolution and install your Bum Gun today!

Sort:  

Never heard it called bum gun before 😂
I’m not a fan of it but then I am a VERY big fan of saving trees, so you got me into a big conflict now... Having just arrived in Thailand and all...

Posted using Partiko iOS

Wash your hands, brush your teeth, but for your bum, a tissue is good enough? Makes no sense.

Bum Gun comes from the British of course!

We have bum guns in Finland too! Sadly, other Europeans don't like them it seems :(

When I lived in Germany as a child bidets were commonplace, not so much anymore.

I certainly get multiple times more ads in my "no ads please" mail box than I use for my bottom. (And no, I use toilet paper not, ad paper.)
Why doesn't that stop for the trees? sigh I mean, I am not even looking at it. I take it up and put it on the paper pile.

Once you use it I can't imagine not having it now. I mean we're told to brush our teeth, wash our hand, take a shower, but for doing a number two somehow just a tissue is good enough until you shower again. Makes no sense until you realize how much money the paper companies stand to lose if we started using the bum gun.

I'm in Thailand for two months now and can't imagine going back to toilet paper and feeling that is clean enough.

Both. That is, we are stupid, and we are manipulated.

These bum guns are common in various countries in SE Asia, as well as in India (where they were simply called "hand showers." I much prefer the wonderfully evocative term "BUM GUN." )

After one gets used to using a bum gun, it's tough to do without. A bum gun is convenient, sanitary, and economical.

I don't know how I'll go back to paper after using this. Much better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65852.33
ETH 2958.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73