Common Degu? It exists!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Clients of my friends’ company presented them Common Degu whose homeland is in Chile.

2.jpg

I did not know about existing of this animal earlier and was very surprised that it may live at home as a pet.

Image-1 (43).jpg

Now adaptation period continues so the Degu is not such active as Wikipedia writes.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Common_degu.

3.jpg

We'll see what happens. :D

Sort:  

Looks like a mouse to me :) I have just read from the wiki link provided that this cutie is highly social & you only have one - that might explain why Degu is not active.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Might be, might be... If this Degu will feel good itself, probably, make sense to find another one for company. Many thanks for your competent opinion!

Your welcome @mindsoul ! Update me when you bring Degu a companion, Would love to hear a happy ending.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Over where I am, we nickname them "Totoro", after the Japanese animation. It's quite popular as a pet!

How interesting! What does it mean "Totoro"? Good idea for the name of this Degu! Thank you very much :D

It's the big monster on the right:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/My_Neighbor_Totoro

In the cartoon it is very kind, so I probably shouldn't call it a monster :D

Many thanks for explanation :-)

My Neighbor Totoro
My Neighbor Totoro (Japanese: となりのトトロ, Hepburn: Tonari no Totoro) is a 1988 Japanese animated fantasy film written and directed by Hayao Miyazaki and animated by Studio Ghibli for Tokuma Shoten. The film—which stars the voice actors Noriko Hidaka, Chika Sakamoto, and Hitoshi Takagi—tells the story of the two young daughters (Satsuki and Mei) of a professor and their interactions with friendly wood spirits in postwar rural Japan. The film won the Animage Anime Grand Prix prize and the Mainichi Film Award and Kinema Junpo Award for Best Film in 1988. It also received the Special Award at the Blue Ribbon Awards in the same year.

As for me this animal is combination of a rat and chinchilla :-) Also it has unique and funny voice. Many thanks for your question and kind comment!

yes. unique and funny.

I am very glad that my post is informative for you! Thank you for your nice reply!

You are very welcome ;-) and indeed, I've found it very informative!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Strange, but beautiful!
I had never seen such a rabbit before.
I had a homemade white rabbit at school age.
I taught him some tricks.
They are trained!
I wish you success!

Thanks a lot for kind wish and sharing your school age experience! May be this Degu has talents too :D

You start (if you want) to train him, and the result will be.

Congratulations @mindsoul! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Good job,,,@mindsoul

beautiful photography. a group of rabbits. I see it happily.

I am very glad to know your opinion! Thank you!

Cute photography,,I like your pics

Many thanks. I like your reply :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66167.71
ETH 3014.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73