10 things in 10 minutes : How I handle motherhood's stress at home

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Ohhh kay...that was an overwhelming week!

I apologize if it took a long time to post again because I had a busy momma week.

Motherhood is fulfilling but there comes a time that you badly needed to recharge before you go crazy from all the demands.

I would like to share the 10 things that helps me from getting back on track:

  1. Coffee - always been a coffee lover and I am trying to switch to tea because I need to decrease my caffeine intake due to breastfeeding. It may only take 5-10mins a day for myself but it helps. All I do is sip my drink and quiet "ME" time until my 1 year old cries or one of my older kids call me.

  2. NO to Social Media - there are studies that show how Social Media can be very toxic so what I do is to turn my phone off or keep it silent for the rest of the morning or the afternoon. Sometimes the best moments are not appreciated because we rely too much on social media. Try it once in a while and you will see the difference it makes.

  3. Music - a chance to use our TV or laptop seem like a battlefield at home so what I do is turn on a relaxing music or play a dance music and dance away. When my kids hear a familiar song, they would sing or dance with me.

  4. Food - There's this saying, "eat your blues away." I would cook up or make a snack while they're asleep and just nibble without a care that I might get fat. After talking about food, the next one is to burn it all which leads to the next item.

  5. Workout - While household chores may be a form of exercise, I believe that it is still necessary for us to do a specific workout that will work on a specific area in our body. Once we focus on this concern then we are able to let go of other issues such as stress.

  6. Glam Up - Well, I seldom leave the house and if I do, I always have my kids with me. What does that mean? Less time to focus on what I wear or how I would look so when they are in school and my youngest is asleep, I dress up or put on make up just to make myself feel better. Mastering the art of what would make me look pretty in less time.

  7. Find a hobby - Taking care of our kids or having a part time job is not a hobby so we need to look for something to do that we are passionate about. Right now, I just love to binge-watch on Netflix whenever I have the time. Addicted to romance and comedy shows. We also do it as a family bonding and just relax.

  8. Shopping - The only form of shopping that I can do now is online shopping and I am grateful for that. With just a few clicks, you can search what you want then compare. Once you have chosen your item, pay it then it will be delivered at your doorstep. This may be an expensive way of relieving stress but most of the time, I just browse and ask myself if I need it before buying. Just looking is therapeutic so try it when you have the time.

  9. Pray - There are stressful days that no matter what you do, it just doesn't go away so I pray for strength, patience and wisdom. You can never go wrong on this one. Be it a 1 minute of letting go of all your concerns and raising it to Him or a prayer, just trust that everything will be okay.

  10. Talk to someone - If you believe that you have done everything and still feel lost then turn to a relative, husband or a friend. Remember that you are not alone. Asking for help is not a weakness but a strength that you want to fight whatever you are experiencing at the moment.

I hope that these things could help you in times of need. If you feel that there are things that should be here then please do not hesitate to leave a comment.

Don't forget that you are a beautiful strong person. steemit_post.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @mirabora! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard to support the german speaking community meetups
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70586.26
ETH 3763.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79