Today is Special!

in #life6 years ago

The news today is horrific. The awful collapse of the bridge in Genoa, the Brits worrying about a terror attack on Parliament, while Turkey is on the brink of financial chaos. All these terrible events have one thing in common – they are beyond my control.

The most important lesson we can learn from crisis is to enjoy what we have when we have it. Modern living is stressful; maybe it isn’t perfect weather for the beach, or hot enough for an ice cream in the town centre. But maybe doing those things anyway will create a special memory, will lead to a fun conversation, will simply be an opportunity to laugh and share.

Don’t wait for the perfect time; today and now is a time you can make perfect.

Below is a sketch of my son on a windy day at the beach. We had not been sure whether to go that day or not, but it had been a success. The water was beautifully flat and clean, we had all swum and enjoyed the cold water after enduring the huge temperatures of our recent heatwave. It was a great laugh and the tourists had stayed away so it felt like we had the Mediterranean to ourselves!

sketch of Joeycrop.jpg

Every day is special, don’t waste a single one!

Sort:  

Although situation may turn out to be something we never thought of, but many people did not realize that if they dont act to overcome the unwanted change, they will remain in thesame spot while the unwanted change gain power over them day after day.

Absolutely - taking control is essential

Hi @mirriek,

When I am in the midst of stressful events I cannot control, I find refuge in my vision, mantras and affirmations - they give me strength.

P.S. I'm happy you had a nice day at the beach and I love seeing your artwork!!

~ @chrisrice

So great to see you on here @chrisrice - I haven't seen any posts from you recently, is everything ok?

It is so important to have visions, mantras and affirmations to help us hold onto hope and not get drawn down by stress. As parents we know that every day brings something special for us, kids change and grow so fast! - I don't want to miss anything or any opportunity

It's so nice that you are such an involved mother @mirriek That is one of the things I really like about you and your blogs.

Everything is good on my side. I haven't posted on Steemit again yet since I am busy spending time with my son, and helping my wife take care of him. If you remember, my last post was about wanting to have a healthier marriage and a healthier life, it's happening but it requires that I spend less time on Steemit. I have still been commenting though, and sometimes that is even better than posting. I like posting blogs too but it is easier for me to come up with writing ideas when I am communicating with someone. I enjoy it! 😊

Zac is at such an exhausting age, I love it when they are walking and talking - but as long as their eyes are open they are a liability to themselves and hence there is no rest for you or your wife.

When my boys were little we were always in a park and collecting leaves and sticks and stones - the house was always in chaos! There will never be enough hours in the day for parents of toddlers - just do what makes you and your family happy and don't worry about anything else or what anyone else thinks.

PS and remember to stay in touch!

Thanks @mirriek Yeah, I am happy you posted again. I always keep a lookout for your posts since I like commenting to say hi.

You are right about toddlers being a danger to themselves. Baby Zac wants to put a lot of things in his mouth so we need to take things away from him that don't belong there. He is also willing to fall down if we don't catch him and prevent him from falling. He can't walk completely by himself yet but always cries for us to help him walk.

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mirriek from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60682.45
ETH 2903.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54