If i have LOVE

in #life6 years ago


There is so many different ways we know of, express and experience love, so I am not really assuming any particular ground in regard to how you last confessed it. All I know is that if I have love, and I mean love in the sense of my own gut feeling, I should be doing things quite differently.

Untitled11.png


For example, I shouldn’t fall in, and I shouldn’t fall out of it. Not that I mind, by the way, seeing as doing so, in either case makes a poet of me. Remember WB Yeats, that Irishman and Nobel laureate whose best lines were inspired by a woman’s rejection?

So yes, if I have love, I shouldn’t fall in, and out of it, and I shouldn’t care if it is unrequited. I don’t mind, mark you, being loved back, knowing how wonderful an experience it is, just that I don’t want to have to end up like Othello! Remember him? That stiff warrior who was broken by a woman’s heart.

So yes, if I have love, my joy comes not from receiving but giving it. Love, if I have it, is not a favor done others, but fervor experienced doing so!

This means two things: First, if I have love, it is without seasons. There is never a time of lack, and never a time of plenty! It is just always there.

Secondly, it is without reasons. There is no ‘I love you’ because of this or that! It is independent of others’ disposition. You can be as ugly or as beautiful; as wealthy or as poor; as white or as black as you want, and I will still treat you the same, if I have love.

If i have love, I show interest in the politics and governance of my country. I do not remain neutral in times of moral crises that endanger humanity, and make an otherwise wonderful life experience a dreaded one for some. I choose, and I take sides as dictated by my conscience irrespective of the price.

If I have love, I do not, like the wild goose bury my head in the sand and pretend not to see your mistakes. I see them, I recognize them, and I point them out, not to castigate, but to correct you.

If I have love, I should always give, not from the excess of what I possess, but neither in excess of it! No. I should not for commiseration sake, deny myself and sleep hungry because my neighbor is sleeping hungry! That is straight foolish. To love, first I have to live, just as to give, first I must have!

Should I travel the world to feed the needy? Yes. And yes! How otherwise? There are so many in want. And I have some to give. So yes, I should, except, if I have love, I should not travel to sow seeds, but to put stakes on sprouts!

This is not to disparage the needy, only a recognition of their responsibility to their own welfare, to which is fundamental the requirement to take the first initiative, to plant the seed! It is that seed that, i will go and help water, and stake, and nurture!
Untitled.png


How about beggars on the streets? Should I give alms? Yes, but if I have love, I should be hesitant, selective! I love them too much to preserve their street days!

And then after all the giving, If I have I love, I do not go on social media and trumpet out how good I have been, and how others are insensitive but will go back to my own family, to my own children, to my neighborhood and tell them how to love if they have love!


Then shall I in my twilight years look back to ineradicable foot prints on people and places; to a purpose fulfilled, a life well lived.


I will be old then, my eyes dimmer, my cheeks and muscles slackened, but i shall have qualified to carry the crown of grey hair that many a youth never get to. Then i will retire to my humble home somewhere in a distant village, far away and enjoy the company of long evenings with grand children. I will tell them how it all started. And from where they should carry on the torch.

And when my end shall come, and this breath I have so gratefully breathed is retracted by the creator and giver, shall I confidently say: I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith as said Timothy, but more than that: I had love. For as the bible observes in 1 Corinthians 13:2

If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing


What have you, my friend?



Much love,

Mirrors!

Follow the @asapers for exposure and curaton benefits

And/or join us in the discord. Here is your invite link https://discord.gg/Ntz9Ntf

Sort:  

Beautiful! Just Beautiful!

This is so true and yet so hard to live by.

Treat all with love, come from a place of love and be love.
Saved this link for inspiration when I need it.
XXXOOO
~T

Thanks BIG @tamala. Very glad you found in t some inspiration. You know i wrote this quick and off head, more like some sort of brainstorm, Although i think it was my long stored beliefs finally breaking out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97