Valentine Memory

in #life6 years ago

My first Valentine was in JSS 1. This cute, small framed guy I was taller than gave me a plastic flower.

It was quite a surprise because I wouldn't even look him in the face. I was very shy and my relationship with most of the boys around me was either one of childhood familiarity or 'you make me very uncomfortable'.


He made me uncomfortable. Not in a way that made me scared or angry but in a way that was too funny for a child like me to comprehend.

So I pretty much avoided him.


I guess he sort of knew so he gave me this cute plastic flower. I couldn't even imagine myself being the recipient of such a gesture on Valentine's day. Omo, I bin wan command ground mey e swallow me.

But the girls thought it was cute and soon, I became the JSS 1 girl who received a flower from a boy in JSS 1.
source

images (10).jpeg

source

Love meant something then. If someone liked you, no matter how much you pushed him away, he would still try. He would try to sit beside you in class. He would grab your hand and hold it tightly despite your discomfort. He would feed you because he thought you wanted something for recess. He would stammer to say the L word but say it anyway.

I know none of those things made sense but in retrospect, it felt more real than now.

Happy Valentine's day to the one that gave me that flower. You love wasn't plastic and for that, may you find your true one.

DQmQGasaxDDehk55oFrjiWrWd53jBgByHXPe7eBSMjhgXct.gif

@missnancy

Sort:  

Congratulations @missnancy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62862.51
ETH 3180.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81