You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How much time do you spend on screens?

in #life5 years ago (edited)

iPad Air being slow and sluggish? laughs while using my first generation iPad Mini which barely can support any new apps but still runs Asphalt 8 well

From your screen time, I can say I'm worse than yours (usage statistic of my phone for the past 7 days):-
SnapShot20190213T025229.jpg

My phone's too potato for a blue light filter. Only installed it once during the trip to Langkawi and Thailand last year due to my phone got too bright in the bus despite my phone's in the lowest brightness setting haha. But definitely not for gaming (yes the system can kill it anytime which is a pain), just using it for normal web browsing.

But honestly speaking, till today despite high screen time (includes my phone, my iPad and the desktop), I'm not even wearing spectacles (well I have a pair of false spectacles with me purely just to look cool). I guess the #1 reason why people wear spectacles is due to turning their phones WAY too bright, which is a burden to your eyes. People tend to turn their phone's brightness too bright till the backlight can be seen on their face (imagine a mini spotlight shining at you when you look at your phone), which I don't understand why. To me, I only turn my screen brightness up if it's bright outside. Else, I'll just leave like this 24/7:-

Screenshot_20190213-031150.png

Oh before I forget, I heard carrots are good for your eyesight. Go nom more of them to heal your eyes up :nom:

Sort:  

That is called optimization...on iOS, they are either godlike or does-not-exist. Discord needs more help with this lol, or probably better, just stop reusing the code they use on Mac... (Not sure who told me about this, not sure it's true or not anyways)

My screen protector has some blue light filtering properties, so that does the job partially. I was used to use Twilight for a software blue light filtering until Android imposed a limitation so that apps cannot draw over the notification panel, making it partially broken. Huawei has their own "Eye Comfort" mode but the yellow tint it gives is ugly lol. Still prefer the one that comes on iOS devices, strong and customizable enough. (Rare footage of me complimenting iOS!)

There aren't scientific proof saying that having too much brightness on screens can cause harm in the long term either. Glare and screen clarity also affects the strain it puts on the eyes, so there are a lot more to consider...better make it easy, as long as your eyes feel tired, stop. Lol.

False spectacles to look cool? I rarely see them...be grateful that your eyesight is still great lol. Can I assume that Misty's glasses are fake too?

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah indeed that there isn't much scientific proof that relates screen brightness and eye health, but somehow to me turning up the brightness setting in unnecessary times (especially in the dark) isn't always a wise idea, no matter it's proven or not. Why burdening your eyes though?

Speaking back of my iPad, it has reached the end of Apple's iOS support (currently at iOS 9.3.4 which no more iOS updates after this :pain:), which means I can't use Discord there (requires iOS 10 or above), OK whatever. But iOS' optimisation is really nice, despite my iPad's potato hardware specifications, it can still keeps an app up without being killed in the background.

Misty's glasses is fake? No. Her glasses are real according to what I wrote back then. I'll never tell you that I have a fetish on glasses.

Not only your eyes, but also your battery life :) screens take a big part of battery usage. I miss the days where I could use black themes to save power on OLED screens...now this LED screen takes as much energy as it does all day long, reee.

Same for the iPad 3, but it still runs Vainglory fine...we don't talk about apps that don't go through optimisations here (like the Messenger app, screw that). Not sure about killing in background, but it doesn't randomly kill currently running apps. Remember the days of iOS 7/8? We had crashes all day every day, lol.

Did you just exposed your fetish on glasses? That's okay I have a weirder fetish. Not telling you anyways.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 67066.21
ETH 3093.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75