Having Empathy When Watching People Make Bad Decisions - I Struggle With This

in #life6 years ago

We are all human and we all make mistakes. We make bad choices sometimes and do dumb things. However, there are many who do these things consistently, throughout there life and I am going to be honest. I struggle to empathize with them.

Help those who help themselves?

Maybe it has to do with the way I grew up, that I didn't have much at all and even parents around for that matter. My life has been about figuring it out and doing things better the second, third, sometimes fourth time around.

Not expecting anything and realizing I am a product of my decisions.

I tend to feel motivation to assist people that are trying to help themselves. To do better and be better for themselves and society.

Everyone catches bad breaks

However, this is not what I am referring too. I'm referring to the people that makes discussion with little thought to their current situation in life.

I struggle to come up with examples, but for lack of a better one. People that struggle financially, yet have half their body covered in tattoos and are buying one off philly blunts at 7-11 and are also flat broke.

All I see is $1,500 of ink and how that money and decisions like that could likely lead to a completely different life for that person.

Granted the circumstances around that person's life could be out of their control and maybe bad breaks happened. However, I'm willing to be that is not the majority of that person.

This is just random weird example, I don't know. Don't mind me...

Regards,
Mitchell J

Sort:  

Why do people that look like they live in a trailer always DO live in a trailer?

Because stereotypes exist since they are true more often than when they are not ;-)

Congratulations @mitchelljaworski! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Presentamos el Ranking de SteemitBoard

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63214.03
ETH 3274.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86