Why Good Resolutions Are Bullshit! Forget it!

in #life6 years ago

good resolutions.png

The first day of 2018 and I think some of you woke up late because the entered the new year with a huge celebration. :D


For me its already a tradition what I will tell you now.
When I speak with people about a new year many say following things:


The next year I will finally begin to lose weight.

The next year I will definitely eat healthier.

The next year I will start to look for a girlfriend.


Next year....
Next year....
Next year...


Well, I always encourage those people. It was a time I had this attitude myself until I finally realized that this attitude is bullshit!

And I am telling it those people. Not in the drastic way I write it here but I ask the question: Why did you wait so long to start a change?

The answer I got sounds often like this: A new chapter is beginning, and I want to start it right.

misguided.png
Let me tell you, ladies and gentlemen, that this attitude is misguided.
Why you have to wait until a new year begins to change something in your life? And honestly its a lack of responsibility?

Why? I will explain you why.


When we do it like that, setting us goals for the next year we are limiting ourselves and giving control to the circumstances. We are allowing a change of the year to dictate our new goals although we can start them immediately whenever we want.

Let me ask you following question: How often when you had a good resolution for the next year you kept it entirely? Be honest with yourself. I know that I failed every time. Yes, every time!

Illusion.png

It's an illusion that a change of a year, or also a change of a month has more power to bring forth a difference and the matching result. A change of year has not this kind of power. You just think that it has that kind of power, but it doesn't have it.

In my opinion, the only thing you lose is time. And time is precious. I am not saying that good resolution for a new year is bad. I am doing it myself, but it's a different thing when you put all your trust into it, believing that the new year will be different, because of its a new year. Folks it's just a new year! Do you feel different today compared to yesterday?

alterntive attitude.png

Instead to wait for a change of the year or month you could start immediately when you want to achieve something. A new year doesn't give you more power. Today its a day like yesterday but now we have 2018 and yesterday was 2017.

Restarting.png

We fail in our ways. Often we will fail. This is a human process and it's necessary to get wiser and better.

One example: When you want to lose weight then start your journey of losing weight! And when you have a weak day and ate a lot of unhealthy food, don't condemn yourself.


Self-condemnation is the worst prison ever.
Restart again. Restart! Restart Restart!


You are not beginning where you started; you are on a good way. Just because you had a weak day, it doesn't mean you have to start from zero. No, restart from your current point and go on. Restart every time until you reached your goals. The good thing is that you can do it when you decide it.


You don't need to wait for a special season, for a certain month or for a change of the year. You can start it right now.

Take the responsibility and start, when you have set your goal.


Am I saying that this attitude will guarantee you success?
Of course not. Far away with that.

Nothing will guarantee you success, its more that you understand not to limit yourself, not to push the control to something that has not the power you believe it has.


You know which attribute I like the most?

The power to decide.png

Sort:  

So sehe ich das auch, wenn man nicht bereit ist, hier und jetzt es zu ändern, wird es auch nichts mit dem Wandel im nächsten Jahr. Das ist alles Krampf und Müll. Jetzt sich ändern, oder es sein lassen. How Simple and easy is that ;-)

So sehe ich das auch :)

So sehe ich das auch :)

Excellent advice, you made me think about such a serious topic ... I also think that changes must occur at the moment when you conceive them. You must clearly represent what you want, you must be persistent in your plans. Most importantly, changes occur in the head ... thoughts are material. Assigned a goal - be persistent and begin to change yourself today ... and not through time.
Thank you

Great comment. So true what you are saying. I am happy that I could spread some​ value :)

You're absolutely right, the only time that really exists is the present!

I really like your way of looking at it "You are not beginning where you started; you are on a good way. Just because you had a weak day, it doesn't mean you have to start from zero. No, restart from your current point and go on. Restart every time until you reached your goals." we are sometimes too black and white, and we see one misstep like failure and that we have to restart from zero. But in fact we are on our way, we just need to restart. Thank you for this advice I will keep it in mind

You are honoring me with your comment. thank you very much :)

I totally agree with you @modernpastor , I don't believe in new years resolution as well. Whenever we want to start something new in our lives, like a diet or a new regimen we can ALWAYS start it NOW or immediately and there's no need to wait for the 1st day of the year to do it. If we want to achieve something we can always set a goal and start it right away, consistency and dedication to achieve the goal is the baseline of the success of whatever we want to achieve not when we started the it.
Thank you very much @modernpastor. Have a Happy New Year to you and your loved ones!

Thank you @leahlei again a meaningful​ comment from you. Thanks for sharing it.

I can sign everything you said.

While I would beg to differ, too :-)

Because you yourself gave the best example on it.

As a habit the end of the year gives occasion to reflect on what was going on all year long and what might and should happen next year. To pick that up and make a topic out of it ends often in resolutions. When another year went by and we notice that we failed in realizing what we promised to ourselves than it just shows our weakness or that the intention was not strong enough. So it is actually NOT the resolution but the self condemnation and regret what hinders us. You pointed that out.

If one makes resolutions long enough and continues to fail on them one might eventually recognize the mistake in this approach. Of course, there are always people who take their resolutions and condemnations with them in the grave. So this people serve us as examples and should be thanked for. Otherwise we wouldn't know or be so impressively reminded on our own flaws.

So I would say: yes, people, make resolutions & be just forgiving when you happen to fail.

Whaaaat a comment! Great.
Thanks for that. It was a pleasure to read it.

Are you fully recovered?

Thanks! :)

Yes, Christmas & family business got me healed. And medicine and not hanging in front of the screen that much as well.

For you I wish no injuries as I know you depend on a healthy body more than others. When I have an injured foot, I can still work or limb to my office. Though I think you are going to be an excellent coach once you quit your career as a player. That's what you are going to do, no? LOL. I am just guessing but would be interested to know.

Die meisten Menschen haben ja für alles immer Ausreden :-) Es gibt ein altes chinesisches Sprichwort, das mir zu deinem guten Post einfällt: Wenn nicht jetzt, wann dann?

So ist es :) und dieses Wann dann, kann sehr mächtig sein.

This is the reason why I don't celebrate new years the way others do. If I want change I put in for the work now, not on Monday- the first of the week, and not on Jan 1- the first of the year. It makes no sense yet the whole world is captivated by this concept. It really is a way to promote procrastination.

Overall, Good post man. Sorry for the rant but your post got me fired up!

Thank you for your great comment.
You don't​ need to apologize, I like comments where you see that the person made his thoughts.

So True ! Sometimes later means never

Exactly. It's often that way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64802.57
ETH 2975.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69