You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Armchair Musings #10 - Names CAN Hurt You, Just Don't Let Them

in #life6 years ago

Oh man, I had it all growing up: glasses, braces, shortest kid in the class, non-athletic, introverted, huge reader, sci-fi geek, difficulty coping with emotions due to the sudden death of my dad not long before my sixth birthday...I got called every name in the book growing up: "Four eyes", "railroad ties", "nerd", "geek", "weirdo", "shorty"...the list goes on and on.

Kids are assholes no matter what country you grow up in.

Today though? What do I need to care about what others think of me? I am married to a lovely woman, have a house, raise pets, work a pretty kick-ass job, AND get to make money writing about stuff here on Steemit. Life's not perfect, but when the desire to impress others vanishes, there's no surface tension for all those names to grab on to, and they slide off with a shrug.

You're a badass and an inspiration, my man. Don't stop being you.

Sort:  

Sorry about your dad, first and foremost. It's still astonishing that despite everything that was happening to you, kids managed to push past it and still call you names, like it was some sort of divine mandate.

I'm glad you're better now. Going from how we were to how we are now is a steep learning curve, riddled with sroodpart everywhere, waiting to suck you down and destroy all your progress. But if you actually make it to the top, you've got a damn near unbreakable foundation.

Thank you, and I'm sure you passed on your survival genes to your kids. I feel like anyone who has those has way more than wealth

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69125.27
ETH 3788.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61