Hold A Mirror Up To Nature

in #life7 years ago (edited)

soap-bubble-824576_640.jpg

Ever the rule breaker, here I am to snap yet another boundary for myself. If you read this post, great. If you like it, awesome. This post is really for me. It's my self assessment, if you will. I had a rough day today. It's day 6 of no smoking and I'm feeling it in my back and legs. I've been moody AF. Work has come to a halt on the most important project of my current life, and I had my ass handed to me by someone I absolutely adore.

Medical Marijuana is legal in the state of Michigan. I would rather have a bowl than a bunch of chemicals smashed together by some guy in a laboratory. Weed is what it is. Nothing fancy, nothing that will make you need to take another something to counteract the negative side effects of the one manufactured by big pharma. One bowl and I am pain free from the arthritis from the waist down and to me that is everything. I also have ADD, which keeps me multi-tasking - by multi-tasking I mean starting everything and finishing almost nothing - or hyper-focusing on one thing for hours. I found that the Sativa strains really help with the something shiny syndrome. I can stay on task a lot easier, and focus on different things without neglecting any one thing. I ran out six days ago and thought I would try to see what it was like without it. Heh. Enter Miss Moody.

Day one wasn't terrible. I occupied myself with a lot of Steemit posts and commenting. Day two was, uh, interesting. I ended up going to a pub that I hadn't been to in a while to have a pint and a song - they always have karaoke on Saturdays and I am a closet diva. Sunday was hit or miss. A gnarly hangover kept me asleep for a better part of the day, but when I finally got moving, I could feel the dull ache settling in to my knees and hips thanks to my friend Arthur, but the pain wasn't terribly horrible. By the fourth day I was looking in my stash box to see if I had somehow overlooked a nugget, but that didn't work out. Day five and today were two of the most miserable days because I was feeling everything and one of my most favorite people told me that I needed to do this self assessment. I hate it when Zinc Saucier is right. Lawyers. Pfft.

I am an INFP. This much has been proven by the Meyers Briggs Personality Test. I have taken it upon myself to redefine their definition of an INFP (Introverted iNtuitive Feeling Perceiving) as an Interestingly Neurotic Fucked Person. I'm needy at times. I have confidence issues. I'm prone to funks and I have stretches of insane need for acceptance and approval. We can thank my mother for that seed, but I choose to feed it as an adult. Let's hope that my holding a mirror up to nature today will help me change this about myself. It's my biggest hurdle. I'm hoping that my writing will help me. I'm pretty awesome otherwise.

Here's to making ourselves better selves. Be it better contributors, better friends or better family members.

Thanks for reading.
Mo

Photo Credit: Pixabay

Sort:  

@molovelly
MO... You quite an interesting person...taking life simple in midst of serious issues...am proud of you and wishing you all the best...interestingly I have some beneficial posts on natural home remedies that may help you with the pains...check my blog posts...
Also...try spice up your meals with tumeric spice can mix in hot milk and add a little black pepper if you can handle it...
All the best and thanks for sharing

Wow. Thanks! Don't let @walkingkeys hear you say that...lol he is the MOST interesting person on Steemit, after all. (it's true):D I'm glad you're reading my stuff, that means a lot to me as a writer. As a person it means even more because it signifies good content and I'm doing what I'm supposed to be doing. I will definitely check out your posts. Thanks again for commenting!
x x,
Mo

Welcome Mo
Posting on another natural remedy tomorrow...keep in touch by following too!😋

Ach I'm so jealous of the people who have legal medical cannabis. Stupid UK government is dragging it's heels so much. Sorry to hear you're feeling crappy, hope things look up for you soon. Sometimes you just need to let your crappy moods play out!

It's working here in the States, but with 45 in office and Jefferson Beauregard Sessions III as Attorney General, that could change at a moments notice. Capitalism. Joy. Thanks for contributing and resteeming my post, Cat. <3

Keep at it and stay strong. One tiny hint if it may help: Aside from the body being addicted to the chemical and hence withdrawal symptoms - there is a psychological aspect that can curb the crave. When you feel a real crave for a cigarette (or whatever) just remember that the crave will not last until you smoke (this is the trap). It lasts between 5-10 mins. So keeping this in mind you can actually outlast it more easily :)

You're brilliant! Thanks for sharing!

It gets better Mo it really does.
Focusing on what you dont have makes things worse - or does for me anyway. I know that chronic (no pun intended) conditions like arthritis are likely to keep bringing your attention back to what will resolve that pain but all you can do is notice that noticing, remind yourself why you aren't doing what you might more usually do and then refocus. By which I mean deliberately put your attention somewhere else... over and over and over and over and over again... and if you rinse and repeat often enough THEN like I said it gets better.

Source: lifetime Phd student of addictions - 'studied' hard everyday for 30+ years 😉

I figure a few more days and I'll be good. Feeling a lot better this morning. ;) No popping and cracking getting out of bed :D wOOt

Good for you!

I hope you start feeling better soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70893.40
ETH 3659.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76