Puerto Crypto, San Juan and the Crypto Mixer at Lote 23 [Memories from the alt season sprint 2018]

in #life6 years ago

I've learned about the event from Gary: "Hey, there is a crypto mixer at Lote 23, do you wanna come?"

F54A42F4-B138-4C3C-8C3B-A122A45F6777.jpeg

A moment later we're walking down the dark calles (streets) of San Juan illuminating the road with the 6" flash light. It keeps the giant flying cockroaches away and could serve as a great self-defense tool.

Victoria says that cockroaches will only attack me if I come close to stair at their business.

I listen her, she is a smart mujer (woman) but am still cautious while walking.

Lote 23

Lote 23 is a vivid marketplace of food trucks in the Hpodromo area. A lot of people come here every night for pre-drinks, quick bites, and socializing before going for a party at La Placita or Viejo (Old) San Juan. How do I filter the crypto community? Easy, most of them are either listening to the speakers on the scene or have a blue name tag. I didn't get mine -- perfect icebreaker.

I start a conversation with Joel and he immediately introduces me to the community of the local Puerto Rican startups. I hear about Piloto 151 coworking that has already two locations. One is 2 blocks away from Lote 23, the other one is in Viejo San Juan. I meet people from Parallel 18: "the only real accelerator in San Juan" -- according to the participants. Puerto Rico, day 4: research phase of the documentary is advancing perfectly thanks to Joel and obviously thanks to Gary who passed the info.

A moment later I meet José, a local attorney who is working with companies moving to Puerto Rico to profit from the local tax incentives loyal to the interpreters. His office is at the Piloto 151, down the street.

Crypto mixers attract all of the entrepreneurs of San Juan

I meet Collin, who moved here almost 6 years ago to start a meat and cheese business with his brother.
"Why Puerto Rico?" -- I ask him.
"Same reason all of the startups are moving here..." -- says Collin and explains that Puerto Rico is an untapped market with tons of opportunities laying around. Collin is from New York. He explains that to set up business in Puerto Rico costed him and his brother 6 times less than it would in New York. Collin doesn't know much about Crypto but is very interested in diving into the movement.

The band switches with the speakers on stage and live Caribbean music starts to flow

When I was coming back to Victoria to snack some fritas and drink water I met Charles with a stealth app for writers that somehow integrates blockchain. Charlie has the same birthday date as me -- 14th of March and we've agreed to hangout in Old San Juan later tomorrow. I hope I can get to his alpha release this year.

I keep mingling and find Quinn from the Garden of Eden community in Texas (he spoke from the scene a moment ago): "Would you like to give a commentary about the Crypto Utopia and how crypto influences the building of the sustainable eco-friendly communities?"

Overall people at the mixer fell in love with the idea of the documentary. We're starting to form a community, guys! That's precious.

Steemit is here, my friends

Two steps away from Quinn I meet Luke Stokes (a famous opinion leader on Steemit: @lukestokes). He wasn't able to talk to me much, but I was able to take a selfie just to document the moment. I feels so good to meet the whales of the Steemit community in real life... in Puerto Rico!

BF0A4D20-1B35-47E3-9680-DB04C7B7498E.jpeg

Should I move to Puerto Rico?

Overall, after such a productive meetup I think it'd make sense to open a marketing company here in San Juan. Piloto 151 building seems to have business spaces for lease.

On the other hand I feel like such a dense concentration of crypto entrepreneurs in San Juan is due to the Blockchain Unbound conference and the city will get less busy 2 weeks from now but let's see what's actually going to happen in reality.

Smash that upvote button to support the Puertopia Documentary project!

6CA103D3-028F-45EF-8E9F-5604E7506EEE.jpeg
📌All of the SBD generated by this article will go to support my documentary about the rise of the Crypto Community in Puerto Rico. All of the upvoters will appear in the credits of the film that will be leaving a mark in the History of the uprise of the Crypto World (please email us if you wish to remain an anonymous contributor)

👌🏻Upvote - ✌🏼Resteem - 🤘🏻Follow

PS: this is my firs post published from the smartphone so might be buggy 😅☺️👌🏼

Sort:  

I’m sorry we didn’t get to chat much. I was looking for you later but couldn’t find you. The conversation I was in when you introduced yourself was pretty deep, so I wanted to respect that. Thanks so much for saying hello and good luck on the documentary!

Thank you so much for reaching out Luke and for the power vote!
I was so happy to meet you at the conference and speak about the current development that Steemit dev team is going through. I would love to have an interview with you and record the thoughts and points that we've discussed to produce a comprehensive video for the community.
Let me know if you'd have any time over the weekend to do it.
With much love and respekt,
-K.

Thank you for the reminder! I may have time tomorrow or Sunday. Would you want to come down to the beach and do it there? Hit me up on discord, telegram, or Steemit chat.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65128.28
ETH 2950.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64