The importance of “no”

in #life6 years ago

"En ocasiones tenemos que abandonar la vida que habíamos planeado, porque ya no somos la misma persona que hizo aquellos planes." JI

After much consideration and long hours of trashy tv shows I decide to do something with my life. While watching episode 2 of Pretty Little Liars season 7, it crash me. Season 7, that means I have spend 7 years of my life of in front of the screen watching a show that, not only I don't like but I also find it really stupid. Seven years that I cannot take back. Seven years that I wasn't really watching the show. ( on the phone all the time ) Seven years where I stop enjoying the sun, the beach… my life.

And that's when really the question hit me. What have become of my life? What is my purpose on life? Do I even have a purpose on life? The answer was simple: NO.

No was the answer to all those questions. No is a simple word, but society had made it difficult. Is much hardest to say no, than to say yes. Nowadays, we say yes all the time, even when both parties know that the real answer is no. Is much simple to say yes and get over it, you will figure it out later. But in reality the one affected by the incorrect answer is you.

Well here I am talking in plural when it's really about me and no one else.
The first thing I need to do with my life is to use NO more often. I wish I were able to realize this long before. This way I would save myself of unpleasant and awkward situations, disappointments, but also a lot of money.

If my old self could see me now it would slap me on my face. By the time I was five years old I had my plan. I will be married by my twenty anniversary of life. I will have my baby girl at the age of twenty-five and I will be the first female president of the history of Cuba.

I had it all figure it out. Then my twenty birthdays came along and I wasn't married yet, but I was about to make the decision that would change my life forever. I didn't even think about it or really understand what I was doing. I was twenty years old for God's sake! I decide to leave my family, my house, my only friend and move to the craziest place in earth. So with twenty-one years on my back a luggage full of cheap clothes and thirty-two hundred dollars on my pocket I landed on Miami International Airport.

At twenty-five and with not baby girl, I was living on a Ocean front Miami Beach bachelorette apartment with no recollection of my initial plan. I was clubbing almost every night and working crazy hours during the day. That was my routine from 2011 to 2013. Office - Club and vice versa and some pool parties in between.

During this time I meet all kind of people, some are still around, others not so much, but the majority were just like a flash, I don't even remember who they were or where did they came from and how we even cross path. All of them in certain way left their mark. All of them help me to become the person that I am today. All of them, even the ones that I cannot remember, will always be part of my life. And for that I am grateful.

Thank you to all of you, thank you.
…

Even thought the first steps on my plan failed, I still have time to become the first female president of the history of Cuba...
 Lol ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65457.15
ETH 2939.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68