Is it ever okay to lie?

in #life5 years ago

I don't like lying. I don't like the feeling it gives me afterwards. And then I keep thinking about it.
I almost never do it, but it happens sometimes. Usually for small things, where I think it's easier to lie, than to have a long explanation, or to hurt someone else's feelings.

There are certain situations where I feel very uncomfortable saying the truth.

"How was your lunch?", "Did you have a good time?".

Still wondering how I should approach those situations.

How often do you guys lie, and why?

@monkeymind8

Sort:  

if you have a nonjugdemental approach, it is not a question of right or wrong, but a question of integrity. or letme put it this way:

what is your reason for lying? Is it out of insecurity? is it out of pride? or is it out of the benefit for the best of your loved ones? I think you better say the truth when you'd only lie to make yourself feel better or make others think you are better than you actually are. but on the other hand, I think lying is ok when we do it for the greater good. And in the end, I think it is nearly inevitable... unless you are me.. which now is a lie within itself and thus an incorrect statement, haha... have a good one

Thanks for your reply.
I agree on the fact that lying to make yourself feel better is not helpful. Actually, I also rarely lie to make other people feel better. But I still do sometimes. I'm not sure it's for the greater good though. I guess I just feel uncomfortable telling the truth, as it would create an awkward situation :-)
Anyway, I try to do it as less as possible.
By the way, how do you know you are lying for the greater good? Unless you know the big picture...

good question. I guess I go by feeling and good intentions as I want the greater good for all. And also, I love akward situations every now and then :D lol

Haha. Yes, I guess becoming comfortable with awkward situations can help :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64161.84
ETH 2950.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60