Less is more

in #life5 years ago

In my life I've stored things up, just in case one day I have to take out the spiral stove I once kept or the crumpled shirt from the trip after an army that might one day fulfill its mission and become part of my pajamas' routine. SPOILER: This day has not come. I never needed too many things, but I always had this feeling of hoarding, maybe someday I would need a certain object to serve me, there and it was an ancient power.
In the scene from the legendary film "Fight Club," Edward Norton sits in a bar with Tyler Darden (Brad Pitt) and they both talk about over-consumption. The number of the film is hard to release emotionally from the objects he had and were burned in his apartment, and then Tyler Darden tells him the sentence:
"The things you own end up owning you".
In recent years I have been trying to get rid of things I do not need, who have done their part and need to retire. The feeling at first is not easy at all, whether it's sentimental or practical, but as soon as I realize that I no longer need it, I have a sense of liberation, freedom. Here comes the idea behind minimalism - not to throw away the majority, but to examine what I really need and use and what I do not use.
I recently saw the movie "Minimalism" in Netflix and this is an excellent film that really makes order on the subject. In general, it is about the fact that consumption today has reached a situation where people consume more than they need. The documentary features various people in the United States who are protesting against American consumption culture, which says that the consumption of objects will give you happiness, the main characters in the film are Joshua Fields Milburn and Varian Nicodemus, who call their project
"The Minimalists", through which they promote the movement of minimalism to the masses through various platforms such as lectures, books, social networks and more.
You've probably seen videos in a network of store opening openings and mass attacks on people on items in the store. This is a situation that stems from the desire to buy more, and from things we have enough of. The same feeling of desire for consumption also comes from the desire to innovate. That we have a product that we are happy with, but because the new version of the product is released so now it is no longer interesting and the new product must be obtained. This creates a situation in which more and more objects are in our possession.
When I was traveling in India, I received proportions in the culture of the Far East. I have seen and spoken to people who live in a very minimalist manner and at the same time feel that they do not need too many things. The objects they really need exist in their lives and this gives them a sense of satisfaction.
The reduction in consumption and storage gave me the possibility of being more willing than I was of the things I had and thinking more rationally about the things I would buy when I needed them.
I'm trying to think about consumption in the sense that what I'm buying will really serve me as an investment for the future. I try to think about it so I will not just buy things that later sat at my house and ask, "Well, what's going on, when will you remember that we exist?" For example, if I want to buy shoes I ask myself, "Do I really need another pair of shoes now, will it give me an investment for the future and I will lock them or they will be thrown in the corner"
I also try to change the concept of food consumption: instead of bombing the refrigerator and the pantry in the products I refer to the writer as my big refrigerator. If I need something I jump and buy and that's how I know I'm really buying food that I use and will not be thrown or just accumulate dust.
The flow of minimalism is global, but in Israel too there is a movement that talks about it and is called Slow. The site is full of very interesting content that talks about minimalism, voluntary simplicity, and the slowness of consumption in a logical and responsible way to create a richer life.
I think that in minimalism the style is very personal and therefore everyone can do it in a certain way and at a certain time. It is very individual to choose which objects I need and which do not. That's the beauty, you invest yourself in your own pace.

Sort:  

Too good. ... Hope people learn to be minimalistic in their day-to-day lives. True goes the saying-'Simple Living, High Thinking' .... You have written amazing article. .. Kudos

Thank you! That is what we need - simple living. Minimalism in the every day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62423.21
ETH 2897.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56