Saturday Rant: A date with procrastination

in #life6 years ago

still-life-3267352_1280.jpg Source: Pixabay

Hey people, I hope you are all enjoying the moment of break and relaxation the weekend brings with it. Enjoy it while it last friend, Monday is right around the corner. And for those that don't or rarely take breaks not even on a weekend because they are the sole proprietor of a business (I'm talking about the entrepreneurs), one day it will all be worth it.

I'm not writing this post to tell you about how much fun am having this weekend (well I'm not anyways) and neither am I here to praise those with the balls to chase their dreams in pursuit of a better life. But am here because I have subconsciously been a victim of procrastination and I want to share my reflections.

I'm pretty sure my friend, that you have heard about how efficient procrastination is in hindering our progress in life. But how many of us has ever really taken the time to calmly reflect on this reality.

I can't speak for everyone but for myself and the only grounded reason I can muster in my mind as to why I procrastinate is because I have this notion that there is still time.

This mentality couldn't be more false. We don't have more time on earth and there are proves all around us only if we tune in. Everything is impermanent, even to our individual and collective thoughts(yes, it's all temporary as they come and go). How quickly everything around us vanishes and disintegrates including our bodies as every single breath we take is a breath that brings us closer to our last I know some might think this is harsh, but if we are not telling ourselves the hard truth, then what are we really doing here.

There is one constant thing in each of our lives, DEATH! and most people are still afraid of accepting this fact of life. true, the thought of death can be pretty scary as no one knows what happens after death, and humans have a tendency to fear the unknown.

I'm really urging you to accept this fact of life if you haven't because with acceptance comes liberation. Once we accept that we all die in the end, we can leverage this "kryptonite" and turn it to "power crackers" that fuel us through life. In short, we turn this hard truth to our advantage and create a sense of urgency in fulfilling our purpose on this PLANET!

Have it at the back of your mind, that your days are numbered

I will leave you my friend with this question. How do you want to live out the rest of your days?

Thank you for reading and peace to you all.

Sort:  

Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @wafrica. Follow @wafrica to get a valuable upvote on your quality post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70018.15
ETH 3794.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75