You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Balance Video Games and Studying/Work

in #life6 years ago

Very nice video and I feel exactly the same. Most of the time I feel guilty after indulging in way longer than planned gaming sessions. Still, as you say, entertainment is part of a balanced life. The key challenge is to keep the reward under control.
I also embraced another strategy: not all the gaming is useless (a part from keeping yourself entertained). Titles like Rocksmith, Shape Up and the sadly gone Xbox Fitness allow to combine entertainment with something useful and rewarding such as learning to play guitar or working out.

Sort:  

I also agree that keeping gaming time under control let you appreciate more the game itself, not to mention you definitely get better at it if you play for short times: long gaming sessions will eventually tire you -> chance of losing increases -> bitterness -> chance of losing increases further -> "one more match, I swear I'm gonna win this one"

Recently I re-started playing Rocket League. One of the main reasons I like it is the 6 - 7 minutes it takes for a match to run: you know how many you can play in an hour and plan in advance when to stop.
That being said, I have to confess last Saturday I spent an insane amount of time with my Xbox, whether it was for gaming or Netflix... still have to improve!

Thank you for sharing :) I'm now spending less time gaming because I have been busy creating content but sometimes I still like to play something just to relax.

If I game too much, then it evolves into more gaming on the next days. But if I get into the mindset of playing only a few hours, I enjoy play AND stopping at the right time. Ah Nextflix can be a black hole for productivity... I feel you xD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64117.78
ETH 3112.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23